Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Switch range made of natural materials. As part of its sustainability strategy, Gira has set itself the aim of developing a new switch range that uses natural, ecologically compatible and at the same time durable materials. The design agency schmitz Visuelle Kommunikation, with which Gira has been working for many years, gave the decisive impetus. The designers suggested using the materials linoleum and birch plywood. Working closely with the agency, Gira developed the new, pioneering Gira Esprit linoleum-plywood switch range with clear lines. The frames are available in six different colours for individual interior design.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Use of birch wood from sustainably managed forests

Use of linoleum made of renewable raw materials such as linseed oil, natural resins and wood flour

Goal for the end of 2018: Share of sales in the Esprit switch range of 12%

Preparation of a life cycle assessment:
75% lower greenhouse potential than with a frame made of polycarbonate

Wood from sustainably managed forests Birch plywood is a classic material for modern interior design. For the frames of the switch range, birch plywood is used which is five-layered cross-bonded, and therefore particularly strong. The birch originates from sustainably managed forests in Finland and is PEFC-certified. The long, hard Nordic winter only allows trees a short period of growth each year, resulting in very thin and uniform annual rings. This makes the wood especially homogeneous and strong. It was therefore possible to produce such a delicate and yet strong birch plywood for a frame.

Linoleum from renewable raw materials In the recent past, the advantages of linoleum have been rediscovered by designers and architects alike. The material was already developed in 1860 by the English chemist Frederick Walton. In addition to linseed oil, its main component, it composed of natural resin, wood flour and calcium carbonate, as well as colour pigments. Due to its unique material properties, linoleum is ideally suited for use as a frame surface. It is extremely durable and is characterised by its resistance to oils and grease. It has anti-static and slightly antibacterial properties, and it is easy to clean. As a result the frames have a variety of uses and can withstand particularly tough conditions.

PROJECT TEAM


Gira Design Team



schmitz Visuelle
Kommunikation [Product Concept
and Design]



Andreas Vole [Building Automation
product range]

Carrying out a life cycle assessment To enable comparison of the environmental impact of different products, life cycle assessments were prepared for each of these on the basis of identical criteria. For example, the process chain from raw material procurement through production to the factory gate, i.e. delivery, was examined in a cradle to gate analysis. At Gira this method was developed for the first time during the development of the Gira Esprit linoleum-plywood switch range. Results show that Gira Esprit linoleum-plywood has a lower ecological impact than conventional frames made of polycarbonate. Its global warming potential is approximately 75% lower than a 1-gang reference frame. The consumption of fossil energy sources is significantly reduced by using less plastic made from crude oil.

Fig.: The high-quality
frames are distinguished
by their meticulous
material selection
and precise workmanship.

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Schalterprogramm aus natürlichen Materialien Im Rahmen der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie hatte Gira sich vorgenommen, ein neues Schalterprogramm zu konzipieren, das natürliche, ökologisch gut verträgliche und zugleich langlebige Materialien verwendet. Einen entscheidenden Impuls gab daraufhin die Design-Agentur schmitz Visuelle Kommunikation, mit der Gira seit vielen Jahren zusammenarbeitet. Von den Designern kam der Vorschlag, die Materialien Linoleum und Multiplex einzusetzen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Agentur hat Gira daraufhin das neue, wegweisende Schalterprogramm Gira Esprit Linoleum-Multiplex in klarer Formensprache entwickelt. Die Rahmen sind in sechs verschiedenen Farben zur individuellen Raumgestaltung erhältlich.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Verwendung von Birken‑
holz aus nachhaltig
bewirtschafteten Wäldern

Verwendung von Linoleum
aus nachwachsenden
Rohstoffen wie Leinöl,
Naturharze und Holzmehl

Ziel bis Ende 2018: Absatz-Anteil
im Esprit-Schalterprogramm
von 12 %

Erstellung einer Ökobilanz:
75 % geringeres Treibhauspotential
als bei einem
Rahmen aus Polycarbonat

Holz aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern Multiplex ist ein Klassiker der modernen Inneneinrichtung. Für die Rahmen des Schalterprogramms wird fünfschichtig kreuzverleimtes und dadurch besonders stabiles Multiplex aus Birkenholz verwendet. Das Birkenholz stammt aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern in Finnland und ist PEFC-zertifiziert. Die langen und harten nordischen Winter lassen den Bäumen jedes Jahr nur wenig Zeit zum Wachsen, so dass sich sehr schmale und gleichmäßige Jahresringe bilden. Dadurch ist das Holz besonders homogen und kräftig. Dies ermöglicht es, derart filigranes und zugleich stabiles Multiplex für einen Rahmen zu fertigen.

Linoleum aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen Die Vorzüge von Linoleum werden seit einiger Zeit von Designern und Architekten wiederentdeckt. Das Material wurde bereits 1860 von dem englischen Chemiker Frederick Walton entwickelt. Neben Leinöl als Hauptbestandteil setzt es sichaus Naturharzen, Holz- und Kalkmehl sowie Farbpigmenten zusammen. Durch seine besonderen Materialeigenschaften ist Linoleum für die Verwendung als Rahmenoberfläche bestens geeignet. Es ist äußerst langlebig und zeichnet sich durch seine Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Ölen und Fetten aus. Es besitzt antistatische und leicht antibakterielle Eigenschaften und ist einfach zu reinigen. Dadurch sind die Rahmen vielseitig einsetzbar und halten auch hohen Beanspruchungen dauerhaft stand.

PROJEKTTEAM


Gira Design Team



schmitz Visuelle
Kommunikation [Produktkonzeption
und -design]



Andreas Vole [Produktlinie
Building Automation]

Durchführung einer Ökobilanzanalyse Um die Umweltbelastungen von Produkten vergleichen zu können, werden für diese anhand identischer Kriterien Ökobilanzanalysen erstellt. Untersucht wird z. B. bei einer Cradle to Gate Betrachtung die Prozesskette von der Rohstoffgewinnung über die Fertigung bis zum Werkstor, also zur Auslieferung. Bei Gira wurde diese Methodik erstmals im Rahmen der Entwicklung des Schalterprogramms Gira Esprit Linoleum-Multiplex durchgeführt. Im Ergebnis weist Gira Esprit Linoleum-Multiplex gegenüber konventionellen Rahmen aus Polycarbonat eine verringerte Umweltbelastung auf. Im Vergleich ist bei einem 1fach-Referenzrahmen das Treibhauspotential um rund 75 % geringer. Der Verbrauch fossiler Primärenergie ist durch die Verwendung von weniger Kunststoff auf Rohölbasis deutlich reduziert.

Abb.: Die hochwertigen
Rahmen zeichnen sich
durch sorgfältige Materialauswahl
und handwerklich
präzise Verarbeitung
aus.

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017