Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Code of conduct as a basis Sustainable conduct means that employees continuously make balanced decisions in their everyday work in which the economic, ecological and social aspects must be carefully considered. The company's own Code of Conduct provides reliable orientation. It specifies which legal regulations our activities focus on in particular and which voluntary commitments we also have to adhere to. The Gira Code Of Conduct therefore provides a framework for our business and is the living expression of our vision of sustainability and integrity [Further information].

 

Organisational measures It is important that these commitments are actually observed and complied with during everyday business. To guarantee and monitor this, Gira decided to introduce a Compliance Management System [CMS]. Compliance means acting in accordance with rules and regulations – both the statutory regulations and those that the company has committed to voluntarily. This should actually be a matter of course, but in a company it has to be backed by organisational structures. A company is obliged to prevent the company, its bodies and employees violating standards from the outset. A CMS serves to determine and implement all necessary organisational measures to prevent violation of laws and internal company regulations.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Appointment of a Compliance Steering Committee

Risk analysis in all departments

Instructions and training for employees

Compilation of a Compliance Manual

Compliance Steering Committee The responsibility for managing the content of the CMS, its installation and work is borne by a four-member Compliance Steering Committee that is supported by the various divisions. At the beginning the work and processes in all departments is analysed. Its goal is to identify any weak points and liability risks and assess them regarding potential damage and the probability that these will occur, and as a result prioritise need for action. The possible annual capacity of the Wanner recycling plant is 84 tonnes.

Developing reaction options The Compliance Steering Committee then develops measures and instructions on the basis of this priority list that help avoid the identified risks. In this context, selected training courses for the company's own employees play an important role, for example topics related to competition law. At the same time the Compliance Steering Committee is available to employees as an information and contact point to answer questions and clarify problems related to legal stipulations and internal company rules. In the medium term the aim is to compile a comprehensive Compliance Manual as a cross-company reference that provides clear advice and instructions to prevent legal risks.

PROJECT TEAM


Sebastian Marz [Head of
Organisation and IT]



Lutz Faßbender [Works Council Chairman
and Data Protection Officer]



Jan Böttcher [Head
of Company Communication,
Sustainability Management]



Udo Schmidt [external
lawyer and consultant]

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Verhaltenskodex als Basis Nachhaltiges Handeln erfordert, dass Mitarbeiter im Arbeitsalltag immer wieder aufs Neue ausgewogene Entscheidungen treffen, deren ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Aspekte sorgfältig abzuwägen sind. Ein eigener Verhaltenskodex, der Gira Code of Conduct, gibt dafür eine verlässliche Orientierung. Er legt fest, welche gesetzlichen Vorgaben besonders im Fokus unseres Handelns stehen und welche freiwilligen Verpflichtungen wir darüber hinaus einhalten müssen. Damit bildet der Gira Code of Conduct die Leitplanken unseres Wirtschaftens und ist gelebter Ausdruck unserer Vision von Nachhaltigkeit und Integrität [weitere Informationen].

 

Organisatorische Maßnahmen Wichtig ist, dass diese Verpflichtungen im Alltag auch tatsächlich beachtet und eingehalten werden. Um dies zu gewährleisten und zu überprüfen, hat Gira entschieden, ein Compliance Management System [CMS] aufzubauen. Spricht man von Compliance – zu Deutsch: Einhaltung und Konformität –, geht es darum, in Einklang mit den Regeln – den gesetzlich vorgegebenen ebenso wie den selbst auferlegten – zu handeln. Dies sollte eigentlich selbstverständlich sein, muss in einem Unternehmen aber organisatorisch abgesichert werden. Denn es besteht eine Unternehmerpflicht, präventiv dafür zu sorgen, dass es erst gar nicht zu Normverstößen durch das Unternehmen selbst, seine Organe und seine Mitarbeiter kommt. Ein CMS dient dabei dazu, die Gesamtheit der erforderlichen organisatorischen Maßnahmen zur Verhinderung von Verstößen gegen Gesetze und unternehmensinterne Regeln zu ermitteln und umzusetzen.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Einsetzung eines
Compliance Steuerkreises

Risikoanalyse
in allen Abteilungen

Handlungsanweisungen
und Schulungen für die
Mitarbeiter

Erstellung eines
Compliance-Handbuches

Compliance Steuerkreis Die inhaltliche Ausarbeitung des CMS, seine Installierung und seine Arbeit verantwortet bei Gira ein vierköpfiger Compliance Steuerkreis, den verschiedene Fachbereiche unterstützen. Am Anfang steht dabei eine Analyse der Arbeit und der Prozesse in allen Abteilungen. Ihr Ziel ist es, sämtliche mögliche Schwachstellen und Haftungsrisiken zu ermitteln, diese hinsichtlich Schadenspotential und Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit zu bewerten und darauf aufbauend Handlungsbedarfe zu priorisieren. Die mögliche Jahreskapazität der Wanner Recycling Anlage beträgt 84 Tonnen.

Reaktionsmöglichkeiten erarbeiten Auf Basis dieser Prioritätenliste erarbeitet der Compliance Steuerkreis Maßnahmen und Handlungsanweisungen, die dazu beitragen, die identifizierten Risiken zu vermeiden. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen in diesem Kontext gezielte Schulungen für die eigenen Mitarbeiter, etwa zu wettbewerbsrechtlichen Themen. Zugleich steht der Compliance Steuerkreis Mitarbeitern bei Fragen und Problemen im Zusammenhang mit rechtlichen Vorgaben und unternehmensinternen Regeln als Auskunfts- und Ansprechstelle zur Verfügung. Mittelfristig wird angestrebt, ein umfassendes Compliance-Handbuch zu erstellen, das als unternehmensweites Regelwerk klare Hilfestellung und Anweisungen für die Vermeidung rechtlicher Risiken gibt.

PROJEKTTEAM


Sebastian Marz [Leiter
Organisation und IT]



Lutz Faßbender [Betriebsratsvorsitzender
und Datenschutzbeauftragter]



Jan Böttcher [Leiter
Unternehmenskommunikation,
Nachhaltigskeitsmanagement]



Udo Schmidt [externer
Rechtsanwalt und Berater]

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017