Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Low total energy balance As part of its sustainability goals, Gira also has to look at the materials used for its products. Plastic is an important material for Gira. The required designs and shapes for products are possible with injection moulding processes. In comparison to other materials such as metals, plastics have a very low overall energy balance. For example, to make a litre of the plastic polyethylene [PE], it only requires 70 MJ [unit of energy megajoule], while 600 MJ of energy is required for the same amount of aluminium.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Very low total energy balance of plastic in comparison to other materials, such as, for example, metals Polyethylene (PE) 70MJ1, Aluminium (AI) 600MJ1
11 megajoules = approx. 0.3kWh

Material analysis with examination of the technical feasibility of new materials

Qualification of the regrind for use in plastics production

Analysis of new materials As part of Technology Management in the plastics production facility, new materials are examined to assess their processability and possible design implementation. The main focus is on the question as to which design can be implemented with which technology to do justice to the requirements regarding quality, processability, economy and reduction of the environmental impact [including the carbon dioxide emissions]. To this purpose Technology Management carries out material analyses, during which the technical feasibility is also investigated. Potential for lowering the environmental damage could be, for example, organically based plastics. For this reason, in 2014 Gira tested WPC plastics [Wood Plastic Composites]. These lignin-based plastics are processed with wood and cork as fillers. In practical use these materials can only be partially processed with injection moulding methods. The moulds and processes must be designed specifically for the plastic. Due to the high wood content, deformation can occur, as the moulded parts absorb water. In practice this results in changes to the dimensions. Ultimately this material is basically interesting, but it became apparent that these plastics are not yet suitable for Gira as they do not allow the company to meet product requirements.


Use of re-granulated material Potential improvements with regard to the reduction of environmental damage can also be achieved by the use of re-granulated material produced from recycled plastics. Gira can both produce re-granulated material itself [refer to the Material Recycling Project in the Plastics Production Facility] and also purchase it. Before it is used, the re-granulated material has to be certified in the same way as any other material to ensure that it meets the technical requirements. Furthermore we are currently examining whether re-granulated material can also be used in future in products with high volume products.

PROJECT TEAM


Bernhard Hoster [Head of
Technology Management
Plastics Technology]



Corinna Mädje [Head of
Process Engineering]



Christoph Leuther
[Member of the Research
and Development Team]



Peter Fischer [Member of the
Plastics Purchasing Team]

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Niedrige Gesamtenergiebilanz Zu nachhaltigem Handeln gehört es auch, dass sich Gira mit den Werkstoffen auseinandersetzt, die in den Produkten eingesetzt werden. Ein wichtiger Werkstoff bei Gira ist der Kunststoff. Die benötigten Designs und Formen für Produkte sind im Spritzgießverfahren realisierbar. Der Herstellungsprozess von Kunststoffen hat im Vergleich zu anderen Werkstoffen wie den Metallen eine sehr niedrige Gesamtenergiebilanz. Um ein Liter Kunststoff des Typs Polyethylen [PE] herzustellen werden beispielsweise 70 MJ [Energieeinheit Megajoule] benötigt, während für dasselbe Volumen von Aluminium 600 MJ an Energie aufgewendet werden müssen.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Sehr niedrige Gesamtenergiebilanz
von Kunststoff
im Vergleich zu anderen Werkstoffen,
wie z. B. Metalle
Polyethylen (PE) 70MJ1, Aluminium (AI) 600MJ1
11 Megajoule = ca. 0,3kWh

Werkstoffanalyse mit
Überprüfung der
technischen
Machbarkeit
neuer Werkstoffe

Qualifizierung der Regranulate
für den Einsatz
in der Kunststofffertigung

Analysen neuer Werkstoffe Im Technologiemanagement in der Kunststofffertigung werden neue Materialien in Bezug auf Verarbeitbarkeit und Designrealisierung analysiert. Es geht dabei um die Frage, welches Design mit welcher Technologie umgesetzt werden kann, um den Anforderungen an Qualität, Verarbeitbarkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Verminderung der ökologischen Schadschöpfung [also u. a. die Emission des Treibhausgases Kohlenstoffdioxid] gerecht zu werden. Deshalb führt das Technologiemanagement Werkstoffanalysen durch, bei der es zugleich die technische Machbarkeit überprüft. Potentiale zur Reduzierung der ökologischen Schadschöpfung könnten z. B. biobasierte Kunststoffe liefern. In 2014 hat Gira deshalb WPC-Kunststoffe [Wood-Plastic-Composites] erprobt. Diese Kunststoffe auf Lignin Basis werden mit den Füllstoffen Holz und Kork verarbeitet. In der Praxis lassen sich diese Werkstoffe nur zum Teil im Spritzgießverfahren verarbeiten. Die Werkzeuge und Prozesse müssen dabei auf den Kunststoff abgestimmt werden. Durch den hohen Anteil an Holz kommt es immer wieder zu Verzügen, da die hergestellten Formteile Wasser aufnehmen. Dies führt in der Praxis zu Maßänderungen. Im Endergebnis ist dieser Werkstoff grundsätzlich interessant, es hat sich bisher aber gezeigt, dass diese Kunststoffe für Gira noch nicht geeignet sind, um die Produktanforderungen erfüllen zu können.


Verwendung von Regranulat Verbesserungspotentiale mit Blick auf die Reduzierung der ökologischen Schadschöpfung können sich auch durch den Einsatz von Regranulat aus recycletem Kunststoff erzielen lassen. Regranulat kann Gira sowohl selbst erstellen [siehe Projekt Materialrecycling in der Kunststofffertigung] als auch einkaufen. Vor dem Einsatz müssen die Regranulate, wie jeder andere Werkstoff auch, in Bezug auf die technischen Anforderungen qualifiziert werden. Weiterhin wird derzeit geprüft, ob Regranulate auch zukünftig in Produkten mit hohen Stückzahlen eingesetzt werden können.

PROJEKTTEAM


Bernhard Hoster [Leiter
Technologiemanagement
Kunststofftechnik]



Corinna Mädje [Leiterin
Verfahrenstechnik]



Christoph Leuther
[Mitarbeiter Entwicklung
und Konstruktion]



Peter Fischer [Mitarbeiter
Einkauf Kunststoffe]

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017