Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

From dialogues to fields of activity Our sustainability strategy is based on a multi-stage materiality analysis. It focuses on the question as to which areas of activity have a high significance for sustainable, responsible business from the viewpoint of the company and of the stakeholders.

GLOSSARY:


Materiality analysis
Gira's sustainability
strategy is based on a
multi-stage materiality analysis.
The results of the
analysis are visualised in the form
of a materiality
matrix.


WHICH STRATEGIC IMPORTANCE DOES THE MATERIALITY ANALYSIS HAVE IN THE GIRA STRATEGY PROCESS?

Gira surveys As the first step in creating our materiality analysis, we took potentially relevant topics from established standards, namely the fourth edition of the sustainability reporting guidelines of the Global Reporting Initiative [G4], the international standard for sustainable company management [ISO 26000] and the German Sustainability Code. On this basis, in a second step the company interviewed 22 Gira managers on current and future challenges in the sustainability context. At the same time the Gira employees were asked to complete a quantitative questionnaire, and 238 people participated.


Survey of external stakeholders After this our external stakeholder groups were surveyed, as the expectations of customers, suppliers and other relevant stakeholders are of great importance for the strategic and content-related orientation of our sustainability management. We try to stay in constant touch with them in various ways. For the current materiality analysis we selected six external groups of stakeholders [architects, end customers, specialised trades, wholesalers, partner companies and planners]. They were also systematically asked to complete a survey based on insights gained from the qualitative and quantitative employee surveys. 76 participants took part. All results of the surveys were summarised in 2014 and subjected to final assessment by the Sustainability Committee and Executive Management to evaluate the relevance of individual topics for the long-term economic success of Gira.

WHO ARE THE
STAKEHOLDERS?


Internal:


Shareholders



Management



Employees


External:


Customers



Suppliers,
business partners,
investors



Regional environment



Politics, society,
public



NGOs, experts,
science


HOW IS A MATERIALITY ANALYSIS CARRIED OUT?

Summary of the materiality matrix The combination of internal and external relevance assessments produces in the Gira materiality matrix (see above). All of the above aspects are summarised in our materiality matrix in relevant fields of action. The higher the position of a field of action, the greater its significance from the viewpoint of our stakeholders. The further right the position of a field of action, the more relevant this topic is for the corporate success of Gira. Our top sustainability topics that are highly relevant from both internal and external viewpoints are therefore shown in the top right hand area of the matrix.

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Vom Dialog zu den Handlungsfeldern Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie basiert auf einer mehrstufigen Wesentlichkeitsanalyse. Dabei geht es um die Frage, welche Handlungsfelder aus Sicht des Unternehmens und aus Sicht unserer Stakeholder eine hohe Bedeutung für nachhaltiges, verantwortungsvolles Wirtschaften besitzen.

GLOSSAR:


Wesentlichkeitsanalyse
Giras Nachhaltigkeits-
strategie basiert auf einer
mehrstufigen Wesentlich-
keitsanalyse. Das Ergebnis
der Analyse wird in Form
einer Wesentlichkeits-
matrix visualisiert.


WELCHE STRATEGISCHE BEDEUTUNG HAT DIE WESENTLICHKEITSANALYSE IM GIRA STRATEGIEPROZESS?

Befragungen bei Gira Um unsere Wesentlichkeitsanalyse zu erstellen, haben wir in einem ersten Schritt potentiell relevante Themen von den etablierten Standards, nämlich den Leitlinien zur Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung der Global Reporting Initiative in ihrer vierten Auflage [G4], der internationalen Norm für nachhaltige Unternehmensführung [ISO 26000] und dem Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitskodex abgeleitet. Davon ausgehend, hat das Unternehmen in einem zweiten Schritt 22 Gira Führungskräfte zu aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen im Nachhaltigkeitskonext befragt. Parallel erfolgte eine quantitative Befragung der Gira Mitarbeiter, an der sich 238 Personen beteiligten.


Befragung externer Stakeholder Im Anschluss folgte die Befragung unserer externen Anspruchsgruppen. Denn die Erwartungen von Kunden, Partnern, Lieferanten und weiteren relevanten Stakeholdern haben große Relevanz für die strategische und inhaltliche Ausrichtung unseres Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements. Wir versuchen, über verschiedene Dialogformate in einem regen Austausch mit ihnen zu stehen. Für die aktuelle Wesentlichkeitsanalyse haben wir sechs externe Gruppen von Stakeholdern [Architekten, Endkunden, Fachhandwerker, Großhandel, Partnerunternehmen und Planer] ausgewählt. Sie wurden aufbauend auf den aus den qualitativen und quantitativen Mitarbeiterbefragungen gewonnenen Erkenntnissen ebenfalls systematisch befragt. An dieser Erhebung beteiligten sich 76 Teilnehmer. Sämtliche Ergebnisse der Befragungen wurden in 2014 zusammengetragen und einer abschließenden Bewertung durch das Nachhaltigkeitsgremium und die Geschäftsführung unterzogen, um die Relevanz einzelner Themen für den langfristigen Geschäftserfolg von Gira abzuleiten.

WER SIND DIE
STAKEHOLDER?


Intern:


Gesellschafter



Management



Mitarbeiter


Extern:


Kunden



Lieferanten,
Geschäftspartner,
Investoren



Regionales Umfeld



Politik, Gesellschaft,
Öffentlichkeit



NGO's, Experten,
Wissenschaft



WIE LÄUFT EINE WESENTLICHKEITSANALYSE AB?

Zusammenfassung zur Wesentlichkeitsmatrix Die Kombination der internen und externen Relevanzeinschätzungen ergibt die Gira Wesentlichkeitsmatrix (s.o.) Sämtliche der genannten Aspekte werden in unserer Wesentlichkeitsmatrix zu relevanten Handlungsfeldern zusammengefasst. Je weiter oben ein Handlungsfeld positioniert ist, desto größer ist seine Bedeutung aus Sicht unserer Stakeholder. Je weiter rechts ein Handlungsfeld zu finden ist, desto relevanter ist dieses Thema für den Geschäftserfolg von Gira. Unsere Top Nachhaltigkeitsthemen, die sowohl aus interner wie auch aus externer Sicht eine herausragende Bedeutung haben, sind also im rechten oberen Bereich der Matrix abgebildet.

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017