Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

The Material Compliance project – looking to the future Bisphenol A (BPA), hexavalent chrome and perfluorinated tensides (PFTs) are three substances found in a wide range of products that have been found to be hazardous in recent scientific studies. As a result, their use is subject to strict regulations. This field, which is new to many companies, is known as material compliance. It involves ensuring that raw materials and other substances are handled responsibly and in accordance with the law. Julia Heidler, Gira's material compliance manager, explains why this approach, which for Gira is a matter of course, is an essential part of a product-related environmental policy.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Establishing the function of a Material Compliance Officer

Goal: Inclusion of the material compliance requirements in the technical specifications

Goal: Inclusion of a checklist with material compliance requirements in the change management process

Products can be called up via SAP at the touch of a button

Material compliance sounds like a highly complex subject. What does it involve?
Julia Heidler: To us material compliance means understanding the legal requirements relating to the environment and health and safety that apply to the raw materials we use to make our products. Our objective is to stop using hazardous substances or only to use them within the relevant legal framework, such as the European chemicals regulation REACH. In addition, we do not work with raw materials produced by overexploitation of natural resources, forced labour or child labour or with substances that come from countries where armed conflicts are taking place. Material compliance also includes the environmentally responsible disposal or recycling of electrical equipment, for example Gira HomeServers.

What is Gira's approach to material compliance?
Julia Heidler: The first stage of the process involved systematically identifying all the directives, regulations and laws that apply to Gira and incorporating the requirements that our products must meet into our development process. We also investigated all our existing products to determine to which extent they needed to be modified in order to comply with all the legal requirements. To ensure that our product modifications follow the material compliance regulations, we have included a checklist in our change management process that allows us to examine which requirements have to be met and whether the modified products meet them. It is equally important for us to identify the relevant amendments to legislation at an early stage, so that we can respond to them proactively. As material compliance is a relatively new field, we also need to raise awareness of its importance inside the company and among our suppliers and external partners. This involves in-depth communication measures and the provision of training courses.

PROJECT TEAM


Julia Heidler 
[Material Compliance Manager]

"A key component of our development process involves ensuring that we use materials and substances that are not harmful to human health or the environment. For us, this is an essential feature of the Gira quality promise."

Alfred A. Bulitz, Managing Director

Why is this topic particularly important to Gira?
Julia Heidler: At Gira, responsible use of resources is an important future task. This includes complying with all the legal requirements for the substances and materials we use, with no ifs or buts, and taking product-related protection of the environment seriously.

What will Gira be doing in the field of material compliance in the near future?
Julia Heidler: Our aim is to become even more proactive. In addition, our SAP system will soon be able to provide details of the material compliance status of all our products at the click of a mouse, so that we can ensure that our customers always receive reliable information.

 

The European chemicals regulation REACH is one of the pieces of legislation which specifies the requirements that substances and materials used by Gira in its products must meet.


At the end of a product's life cycle, it is important for it to be disposed of or for the materials used to make it to be recycled in a way that meets material compliance requirements, in order to reduce its impact on human health and the environment. This is governed by the European WEEE Directive 2012/19/EU.

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Zukunftsaufgabe „Material Compliance“ Bisphenol A (BPA), Chrom VI, Perfluorierte Tenside (PFT) – drei Stoffe, die in so manchem Produkt stecken, inzwischen aber auch aufgrund neuer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse als bedenklich gelten. Ihr Einsatz unterliegt daher strengen rechtlichen Vorgaben. Material Compliance nennt sich das entsprechende, für viele Unternehmen noch junge Aufgabenfeld. Hier soll der rechtskonforme und verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit Rohstoffen und Materialien sichergestellt werden. Warum dies für Gira selbstverständliche Praxis eines produktbezogenen Umweltschutzes ist, erzählt uns Julia Heidler, die Material Compliance-Beauftragte im Unternehmen.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Etablierung der Funktion
einer Material Compliance
Beauftragten

Ziel: Implementierung
der Material Compliance
Anforderungen im Lastenheft

Ziel: Checkliste zu Material
Compliance Anforderungen
im Änderungsmanagement

Produkte
können über SAP auf
Knopfdruck abgefragt
werden

Material Compliance – das hört sich nach einem sehr komplexen Thema an. Was können wir uns darunter vorstellen?
Julia Heidler: In Rahmen von Material Compliance beschäftigen wir uns bei Gira mit den rechtlichen Anforderungen im Bereich von Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschutz an die Rohstoffe, aus denen wir Produkte herstellen. Ziel ist es zum einen, bedenkliche Stoffe nicht mehr bzw. nur im Rahmen gesetzlicher Vorgaben wie etwa der europäischen Chemikalienverordnung REACH einzusetzen. Zum zweiten verarbeiten wir keine Rohstoffe, die aus Raubbau, Zwangs- und Kinderarbeit oder aus Staaten stammen, in denen bewaffnete Konflikte stattfinden. Zur Material Compliance gehört aber auch die Frage der umweltgerechten Entsorgung bzw. Wiederverwertung von Elektrogeräten – beispielsweise eines Gira HomeServers.

Wie geht Gira die Aufgabe Material Compliance an?
Julia Heidler: Zunächst ging es darum, systematisch die für Gira relevanten Richtlinien, Verordnungen und Gesetze zu identifizieren und die dort festgeschriebenen Anforderungen, denen unsere Produkte gerecht werden müssen, in unseren Entwicklungsprozess zu implementieren. Ebenso haben wir unsere Bestandsprodukte überprüft, inwiefern wir sie modifizieren müssen, um alle rechtlichen Anforderungen zu erfüllen.Damit auch Produktänderungen „material compliant“ sind, ist jetzt eine Checkliste Bestandteil des Änderungsmanagements, anhand der wir überprüfen, welche Vorgaben einzuhalten sind und ob die geänderten Produkte diese schlussendlich auch einhalten. Umgekehrt ist es genauso wichtig, uns betreffende Änderungen rechtlicher Vorgaben frühzeitig auf dem Schirm zu haben, damit wir hier proaktiv agieren können.Da Material Compliance noch ein relativ neues Aufgabenfeld ist, müssen wir überdies sowohl im Unternehmen als auch bei unseren Lieferanten und externen Partnern ein Bewusstsein für die Wichtigkeit dieses Themas schaffen. Hierzu sind eine umfangreiche Kommunikation und Schulungen erforderlich.

PROJEKTTEAM


Julia Heidler 
[Beauftragte Material Compliance]

„Es ist fester Bestandteil unseres Entwicklungsprozesses darauf zu achten, dass wir bei der Herstellung unserer Produkte für Mensch und Umwelt unbedenkliche Materialien und Stoffe verwenden. Dies gehört für uns ganz selbstverständlich zum Gira Qualitätsversprechen.“

Alfred A. Bulitz, Geschäftsführer

Warum hat das Thema für Gira eine besondere Bedeutung?
Julia Heidler: Für Gira ist der verantwortungsbewusste Umgang mit Ressourcen eine wichtige Zukunftsaufgabe. Dazu zählt, dass wir alle rechtlichen Vorgaben mit Blick auf eingesetzte Stoffe und Materialien ohne Wenn und Aber erfüllen und produktbezogenen Umweltschutz ernst nehmen.

Was hat sich Gira in Sachen Material Compliance für die nahe Zukunft vorgenommen?
Julia Heidler: Wir wollen noch stärker proaktiv tätig werden. Außerdem soll unser SAP-System künftig auf Knopfdruck Auskunft über den jeweiligen aktuellen Material Compliance-Status all unserer Artikel geben, damit wir unsere Kunden stets zuverlässig informieren können.

 

Die europäische Chemikalienverordnung REACH gehört zu den rechtlichen Vorgaben, die Anforderungen an Stoffe und Materialien stellt, aus denen auch Gira Produkte fertigt.


Am Ende des Lebenszyklus eines Produkts ist es für den Schutz von Mensch und Umwelt wichtig, dass seine Entsorgung bzw. die Wiederverwertung bei seiner Herstellung verwendeter Stoffe „material compliant“ erfolgt. Wie das geschieht, legt die europäische WEEE Richtlinie 2012/19/EU fest.

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017