Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Dedication and fun Sustainability is much more than just a question of an inner attitude: it needs to be practised both in the company and outside the workstore. With a regular programme of campaigns, Gira wants to offer its employees the opportunity to actively make their professional and private everyday lives more sustainable. This includes activities that allow them to become involved in conservation projects, accept social responsibility or learn how to use resources with a heightened awareness of costs. The projects should also be fun, they also offer the opportunity to get to know colleagues from other working areas and to gain new, valuable experience.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Trainee social projects, e.g. "Christmas in a shoe box" [participation of 14 trainees]

Employee projects, e.g. "Car pools to Gira" [currently: 23 in total, with 64 participants]

Employee projects, e.g. "Radevormwalder Mittagstisch" [participation of 48 employees]

Trainee environmental projects, e.g. "Developing the Timmer Teiche biotope project"

Regular trainee campaigns The projects for the Gira trainees are a central element of the company's volunteer programme. They offer the trainees the opportunity to get involved in a social project or an environmental protection campaign.
The trainees are given one free working day per year for their involvement. The special thing about it is that the voluntary non-profit day is treated and paid for as a regular working day. In this way Gira wants to encourage trainees to make a contribution to society whilst expanding their social and environmental knowledge.

Environmental project for trainees The project "Developing the Timmer pond biotope" is an exemplary environmental protection project. As part of this project the trainees were able to help extend and improve a wildlife sanctuary zone at the Timmer Teiche biotope in Radevormwald. They were involved in clearing and planting along the banks and in the surrounding area. They also built two bridge crossings as well as another supply channel from the stream. The trainees took part with great enthusiasm and energy - all on a voluntary basis. Further participation days are planned for this project.

PROJECT TEAM


Annabelle Rothe
[Head of Commercial
Training]



Guido Zimmermann
[Head of Technical
Training]



Laura Boldt
[Corporate Communication]



Gira
Sustainability Committee

Social projects for trainees The social projects included, for example, the "Christmas in a shoe box" project in 2014. This is the title of a major gift campaign for children in need in German-speaking countries. The trainees first very successfully mastered the challenge of convincing selected departments to participate in this charity campaign: the interest was tremendous. A total of 42 shoe boxes that the trainees obtained from a local shoe shop and decorated for Christmas were filled by employees in Marketing, HR, In-House Sales, Main Office and the postal service as well as by the Gira trainees themselves.
They contained clothing, furry animals, toys and school items, toiletries and sweets that are sure to have made the children in need that received them very happy. The campaign was so well received that in 2015 the company and its trainees started its own campaign in a similar form - the Gira Christmas miracle" that mainly benefited refugee children in the Bergisches Land region of Germany.

Fig. left: Digging deep: A group of Gira trainees spent the day planting around 200 young trees at the Bever dam.


Fig. right: There is always a lot to do at Radevormwalder Mittagstisch. Gira trainees spent a whole day assisting the volunteers in their tasks as part of a trainee project.

Promoting car pools One example of a successful employee project is the "Car pools to Gira" campaign. Participants can save petrol and protect the environment. Of course, the aspect of interpersonal relationships should not be forgotten, either: The daily journey to work offers the opportunity for colleagues to get to know each other better and make new friends. This obviously means that people who are interested in starting a car pool and have a similar journey to work have to get together. Gira came up with an employee project to lend a helping hand. Especially in view of the limited car parking area near the company, car pools can help relieve the parking situation. Gira supports all car pools with a separate, allocated parking space on the company's premises so that time-consuming searches for a space every morning are a thing of the past.

65%


more car pools
in comparison to
the previous year [2015: 23
2016: 38]

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Engagement und Spaß Nachhaltigkeit ist nicht nur eine Frage der inneren Einstellung, sondern will auch ganz praktisch gelebt werden – im Unternehmen selbst wie auch außerhalb der Werkstore. Mit regelmäßigen Aktionen rund um das Thema möchte Gira daher auch ihren Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit geben, ihren beruflichen und privaten Alltag aktiv nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Dies umfasst Aktivitäten, die helfen, einen persönlichen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz zu leisten, soziale Verantwortung zu übernehmen oder kostenbewusst mit Ressourcen umzugehen. Die Projekte sollen auch Spaß machen, sie bieten zudem die Gelegenheit, Kollegen aus anderen Arbeitsbereichen besser kennenzulernen und neue, wertvolle Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Azubi-Sozialprojekte,
z. B. »Weihnachten im
Schuhkarton« [Teilnahme von
14 Azubis]

Mitarbeiterprojekte,
z. B. »Fahrgemeinschaften zu
Gira« [Aktuell: 23 Stk.,
insgesamt 64 Personen]

Mitarbeiterprojekte,
z. B. »Radevormwalder
Mittagstisch« [Teilnahme
von 48 Mitarbeitern]

Azubi-Umweltprojekte,
z. B. »Biotop Timmer Teiche
ausbauen«

Regelmäßige Azubi-Aktionen Einen zentralen Baustein des betrieblichen Freiwilligenprogramms bilden die Aktionen für die Gira Auszubildenden. Sie bieten den Azubis die Gelegenheit, bei einem sozialen Projekt oder einer Aktion für den Umweltschutz mitzuwirken.
Für ihre Teilnahme daran werden die Auszubildenden an einem Werktag pro Jahr von der Arbeit freigestellt. Das Besondere daran: Der freiwillige gemeinnützige Tag wird als regulärer Arbeitstag angerechnet und entlohnt. Auf diese Weise möchte Gira seine Auszubildenden dazu ermutigen, sich zu engagieren und dadurch ihre Sozial- und Umweltkompetenz zu erweitern.

Umweltprojekt für Azubis Die Aktion »Biotop Timmer Teiche ausbauen« ist ein beispielhaftes Projekt im Bereich Umweltschutz. Im Rahmen der Aktion konnten die Auszubildenden bei Ausbau und Verbesserung einer Wildruhezone am Biotop Timmer Teiche in Radevormwald mithelfen. Sie beteiligten sich an Rodungs- und Pflanzarbeiten an der Uferzone und im umliegenden Gelände. Außerdem bauten sie zwei Brückenquerungen sowie eine weitere Quellen-Zuleitung aus dem Bachlauf. Mit viel Begeisterung und Tatkraft haben sich die Azubis hier engagiert - und dies ganz freiwillig. Weitere Aktionstage für dieses Projekt sollen folgen.

PROJEKTTEAM


Annabelle Rothe
[Leitung kaufmännische
Ausbildung]



Guido Zimmermann
[Leitung technische
Ausbildung]



Laura Boldt
[Unternehmenskommunikation]



Gira
Nachhaltigkeitsgremium

Sozialprojekt für Azubis Zu den sozialen Projekten gehörte zum Beispiel die Teilnahme am Projekt »Weihnachten im Schuhkarton« im Jahr 2014. Unter diesem Titel läuft alljährlich eine groß angelegte Geschenkaktion im deutschsprachigen Raum für Kinder in Not. Die Auszubildenden bewältigten dabei zunächst mit viel Erfolg die Herausforderung, ausgewählte Abteilungen für eine Teilnahme an der karitativen Aktion zu gewinnen: Das Mitmach-Interesse war riesengroß. Insgesamt 42 Schuhkartons, die die Auszubildenden aus einem ortsansässigen Schuhgeschäft besorgt und weihnachtlich verziert hatten, haben Mitarbeiter des Marketings, der Personalabteilung, des Vertriebsinnendienstes, der Zentrale und des Postservices sowie der Gira Nachwuchs selbst befüllt.
Ihr Inhalt: Kleidung, Kuscheltiere, Spiel- und Schulsachen, Hygieneartikel und Süßigkeiten, die den so beschenkten notleidenden Kinder sicherlich viel Freude bereitet haben. Die Aktion kam so gut an, dass das Unternehmen mit seinen Auszubildenden 2015 eine eigene Initiative in ähnlicher Form startet: das Gira Weihnachtswunder, das vor allem Flüchtlingskindern im Bergischen Land zugute kommen soll.

Abb. links: Kräftig anpacken: Eine Gruppe von Gira Azubis hat einen Tag lang an der Bevertalsperre ca. 200 Bäume gepflanzt.


Abb. rechts: Beim Radevormwalder Mittagstisch ist immer viel zu tun. Im Rahmen einer Azubi-Aktion haben die Gira Auszubildenden einen ganzen Tag lang die ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeiter bei ihrem Einsatz
unterstützt.

Fahrgemeinschaften fördern Ein Beispiel für ein erfolgreiches Mitarbeiterprojekt ist die Aktion »Fahrgemeinschaften zu Gira«. Die Teilnehmer können damit Spritkosten sparen und die Umwelt entlasten. Das Zwischenmenschliche kommt dabei auch nicht zu kurz: Auf der täglichen Fahrt zur Arbeit lernt man die Kollegen besser kennen und kann leicht neue Kontakte knüpfen. Die Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass die Kandidaten, die an einer Fahrgemeinschaft Interesse haben und einen ähnlichen Anfahrtsweg haben, auch zusammenfinden. Dabei will Gira mit dem Mitarbeiterprojekt helfen. Zumal auch angesichts der knappen Parkplatzfläche am Unternehmen die Nutzung von Mitfahrgelegenheiten zur Entlastung der Parksituation beitragen kann. Gira fördert alle Fahrgemeinschaften mit einem eigenen, fest zugewiesenen Parkplatz auf dem FirmenFirmengelände, sodass die zeitraubende Suche nach einem Abstellplatz am Morgen entfallen kann.

65 %


mehr Fahrgemeinschaften
im Vergleich zum
Vorjahr [2015: 23 Stk.
2016: 38 Stk.]

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017