Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Sustainability as a common goal Sustainable conduct can only determine everyday business and company processes if it is understood and accepted as a joint goal of all employees on all company levels. To guarantee this, communication within the company is of decisive importance. It must ensure comprehensive information about the corresponding strategic goals and projects, and also spark and moderate discussions on the topic. Only in this way is it possible to awaken interest, provide full clarity, create acceptance and motivate people to become actively involved.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Information about "Gira and sustainability", motivation to participate

Regular Gira Sustainability Reports

Orientation with a uniform corporate design

Survey followed by planning process In 2011 Gira already carried out an internal survey within the framework of a thesis and assessed whether and how the approach of sustainable company management suits Gira. After the survey revealed that the majority of employees and managers fundamentally thought that sustainable orientation is positive and suitable for Gira, in 2012 the Gira Sustainability Committee took up its work. At the same time work also started on a comprehensive sustainability strategy. It identifies "internal communication" as a central factor of success.

Model, design and communication platform This package of tasks includes various measures. The main priority is the formulation and publication of a sustainability model. Published in October 2013, it provides assistance and orientation for sustainable conduct at Gira. At the same time the company worked with its creative agency to introduce a sustainability logo and a uniform design. This achieved a clear recognition effect and summarised the sustainability model in a way that can be easily and quickly identified. Simultaneously the Gira online sustainability portal was also launched as a central communication platform.

PROJECT TEAM


Gira Sustainability Committee

Trainee and employee campaigns It is also necessary to give employees the opportunity to take positive action themselves both inside and outside the company. To this purpose Gira has developed and initiated various trainee and employee projects. These are centred on voluntary campaigns such as creating car pools, taking part in a competition to lower paper consumption or concrete involvement in social or ecological projects. These campaigns show that in addition to the economic challenges there are social and ecological matters which also require attention. These opportunities that the company offers employees to become actively involved are well received.

The Gira Sustainability Report Another element of internal communication is a regularly published Sustainability Report that provides information on the sustainability approach of Gira, the strategies evolved as a result and the status of its implementation. At the same time it provides a basis on which groups of employees in the company can discuss the options for sustainable action. This first edition is actually mainly aimed at Gira employees. Next year a report will be published that complies with the principles of the Global Reporting Initiative [GRI] and which will provide information to interested members of the public about sustainable action at Gira. A new version of the internal survey is also planned at Gira for 2016. It will mainly focus on the experiences of employees that they have made with the new strategic orientation and the impressions gained during implementation of the corresponding projects. Not surprisingly the central question will be: what has happened and changed as the result of Gira's approach to sustainable action and business in 2012?

Fig.: The Gira Sustainability Report
2015

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Nachhaltigkeit als gemeinsame Aufgabe Nachhaltiges Handeln kann nur dann den unternehmerischen Alltag und die Geschäftsprozesse bestimmen, wenn es als eine gemeinsame Aufgabe von allen Mitarbeitern auf allen Unternehmensebenen verstanden und angenommen wird. Um dies zu gewährleisten, ist die Kommunikation im Unternehmen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Sie muss für umfassende Informationen über die entsprechenden strategischen Ziele und Projekte sorgen, Diskussionen darüber anregen und moderieren. Nur so lässt sich Interesse wecken, umfassend aufklären, Akzeptanz schaffen und zum engagierten Mitmachen anregen.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Information über »Gira und
Nachhaltigkeit«, Anregung
zum Mitmachen

Regelmäßige Erstellung
des Gira Nachhaltigkeitsberichts

Orientierung durch
einheitliches
Corporate Design

Auf Befragung folgt Planungsprozess Bereits 2011 hat Gira im Rahmen einer Diplomarbeit eine interne Befragung durchgeführt und bewertet, ob und wie der Ansatz der nachhaltigen Unternehmensführung zu Gira passt. Nachdem die Befragung ergeben hatte, dass der überwiegende Teil der Belegschaft und Führungskräfte eine nachhaltige Ausrichtung grundsätzlich positiv und zu Gira passend beurteilt, nahm im Jahr 2012 das Gira Nachhaltigkeitsgremium seine Arbeit auf. Zeitgleich starteten die Arbeiten an einer umfassenden Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Sie identifiziert die „Interne Kommunikation“ als einen zentralen Erfolgsfaktor.

Leitbild, Design und Kommunikationsplattform Dieses Aufgabenpaket umfasst diverse Maßnahmen. Zuvorderst ging es um die Formulierung und Veröffentlichung eines Nachhaltigkeitsleitbildes. Im Oktober 2013 publiziert, gibt es Hilfestellung und Orientierung für nachhaltiges Handeln bei Gira. Begleitend dazu hat das Unternehmen gemeinsam mit seiner Kreativagentur ein Nachhaltigkeits-Logo und ein einheitliches Design eingeführt. Damit wurde ein klarer Wiedererkennungseffekt erreicht und das Nachhaltigkeitsleitbild griffig und schnell identifizierbar zusammengefasst. Zur gleichen Zeit ging auch das Gira Nachhaltigkeitsportal als zentrale Kommunikationsplattform online.

PROJEKTTEAM


Gira Nachhaltigkeitsgremium

Azubi- und Mitarbeiteraktionen Es ist außerdem notwendig, der Belegschaft Möglichkeiten zu geben, inner- und außerhalb des Unternehmens selbst aktiv verantwortungsvoll Handeln zu können. Dazu hat Gira verschiedene Azubiund Mitarbeiterprojekte konzipiert und initiiert. Dabei geht es um freiwillige Aktionen wie die Bildung von Fahrgemeinschaften, die Teilnahme an einem Wettbewerb mit dem Ziel, den Papierverbrauch zu senken, oder um das konkrete Mitarbeiten an Vorhaben im sozialen oder ökologischen Bereich. Die Aktionen verdeutlichen, dass es neben der ökonomischen Herausforderung auch noch soziale und ökologische Belange für Unternehmen gibt, die ebenfalls berücksichtigt werden müssen. Diese Angebote, sich aktiv zu engagieren, werden von den Mitarbeitern gut angenommen.

Der Gira Nachhaltigkeitsbericht Ein weiteres Element der internen Kommunikation ist ein regelmäßig erscheinender Nachhaltigkeitsbericht, der Auskunft über das Nachhaltigkeitsverständnis bei Gira, die daraus abgeleitete Strategie und den Stand ihrer Umsetzung gibt. Zugleich liefert er eine Grundlage, auf der im Unternehmen in Mitarbeiterrunden über die Möglichkeiten des nachhaltigen Handelns diskutiert werden kann und soll. Die hier vorliegende erste Ausgabe richtet sich in der Tat hauptsächlich an die Gira Mitarbeiter. Folgen wird im kommenden Jahr ein Bericht, der nach den Prinzipien der Global Reporting Initiative [GRI] erstellt wird und künftig alle zwei Jahre die interessierte Öffentlichkeit über nachhaltiges Handeln bei Gira informieren soll. Für das Jahr 2016 ist zudem die Neuauflage einer internen Befragung bei Gira geplant: Sie wird sich vor allem um die von den Mitarbeitern mit der strategischen Neuausrichtung gemachten Erfahrungen und Eindrücke drehen, die diese bei der Umsetzung entsprechender Vorhaben gewonnen haben. Nicht von ungefähr wird die zentrale Frage lauten: Was hat sich mit der Ausrichtung von Gira auf nachhaltiges Handeln und Wirtschaften im Jahr 2012 alles getan und verändert?

Abb.: Der Gira Nach-
haltigkeitsbericht 2015

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017