Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Effective resource conservation Recycling of sorted plastics has been an established process in plastic production for many years. A conventional method is to grind these plastics with mills and add them to new material that is supplied to the injection moulding machine. When the plastics are ground, chain degradation occurs. This has a negative effect on the plastic properties. The addition of re-granulated material is therefore only possible to a limited degree. With direct addition of the ground plastics, only roughly up to 15% of re-granulated material can be added to the new material.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Recycling of rejected plastic parts from production

Returning the reground plastics fractions to the production process

Recycling 40 tonnes of material per year

Quality a high priority Gira runs a high-quality recycling system with an extruder supplied by Wanner. The plastic rejects are high-quality raw materials in plastics production. They are carefully sorted according to their properties. The raw materials are then supplied to the extruder and melted carefully to protect the material. The melt is then passed through a cooling bath and can then be reprocessed to make new pellets. The properties of the re-granulated material made in this way are comparable to new material. It can be used to make high-quality products. The re-granulated material is certified in compliance with technical requirements. [New Materials in Plastics Production Project]. Under these conditions Gira can use 100% re-granulated material for new products. Examples for the use of re-granulated material are lacquered cover plates for SCHUKO socket outlets.

Consistent development The project started in 2012, and as the first step the parts made of re-granulated material were certified. After successful conclusion in 2013 it was possible to start production with an annual volume of approximately 30 tonnes, which increased in 2015 to 40 tonnes. This means that it was not necessary to buy the corresponding quantity of new material. The possible annual capacity of the Wanner recycling plant is 84 tonnes.

PROJECT TEAM


Andreas Schulte
[Head of the Plastics Centre]



Erwin Stiller [Project Manager
Industrialisation]



Bernhard Hoster [Head of
Technology Management
Plastics Production]



Oliver Berker [Head of
Industrialisation (Projects)]

Text

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Ressourcen effizient schonen Das Recyceln von aussortierten Kunststoffen ist in der Kunststofffertigung seit Jahren etabliert. Herkömmlicherweise werden diese Kunststoffe mit Mühlen eingemahlen und dem Neumaterial an der Spritzgießmaschine wieder zugeführt. Beim Einmahlen kommt es zu einem Kettenabbau. Dies beeinflusst die Eigenschaften der Kunststoffformteile negativ. Die Zuführung von Regranulat ist daher nur begrenzt möglich. Durch das direkte Einmahlen von Kunststoffen lassen sich nur ca. maximal 15 % Regranulat dem Neumaterial zuführen.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Recycling aussortierter
Kunststoffteile
aus der Produktion

Rückführung der
regranulierten Kunststoffteile
in den Produktionsprozess

Wiederverwertung
von 40 Tonnen Material
pro Jahr

Qualität wird groß geschrieben Gira betreibt ein hochwertiges Recyceln mit einem Extruder der Firma Wanner. Die Kunststoffausschüsse sind in der Kunststofffertigung hochwertige Rohstoffe. Eine sortenreine Sammlung erfolgt. Nachfolgend werden die Rohstoffe dem Extruder zugeführt und materialschonend aufgeschmolzen. Die so gewonnene Schmelze durchläuft ein Abkühlbad und kann dann zu neuwertigem Granulat verarbeitet werden. Die Eigenschaften des so hergestellten Regranulates sind mit dem Neumaterial vergleichbar. Hochwertige Produkte lassen sich erzeugen. Dabei wird das Regranulat gemäß den technischen Anforderungen qualifiziert [Projekt Neue Werkstoffe in der Kunststofffertigung]. Unter diesen Voraussetzungen kann bei Gira 100 % Regranulat für neue Produkte eingesetzt werden. Beispiele für den Einsatz von Regranulat sind lackierte Abdeckungen für SCHUKO Steckdosen.

Stetige Entwicklung Das Projekt startete in 2012 bei dem im ersten Schritt die Qualifizierung der Teile aus Regranulat durchgeführt wurden. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss in 2013 konnte die Produktion mit einer Jahresmenge von ca. 30 Tonnen beginnen, die sich in 2015 auf 40 Tonnen erhöht hat. Das bedeutet für diese Menge musste nicht entsprechend Neumaterial eingekauft werden. Die mögliche Jahreskapazität der Wanner Recycling Anlage beträgt 84 Tonnen.

PROJEKTTEAM


Andreas Schulte
[Werksleiter Kunststoffzentrum]



Erwin Stiller [Projektleitung
Industrialisierung]



Bernhard Hoster [Leiter
Technologiemanagement
Kunststofffertigung]



Oliver Berker [Leiter
Industrialisierung (Projekte)]

Text

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017