Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

A total of 64 machines are used in plastic production injection moulding, and together with peripheral equipment, they consume an enormous amount of energy. This is why machinery is also the focus of heightened efforts to achieve higher energy efficiency. One example is the use of new drive concepts. "We have been gradually converting to energy-efficient machines over the course of several years," reports Andreas Höller, Head of Technical Plastic Production Facilities.

The conventional machines are fully hydraulic models. Although these are cheaper to buy, they consume a particularly high amount of energy. Fully electrical machines are a much more economical, but also more expensive option. Hybrid machines, a combination of both systems, combine the advantages of both models. Compared to fully hydraulic machines, for instance, a hybrid machine uses up to 60% less energy.

For this reason, Gira has also opted for the economical hybrid versions and gradually began purchasing them ten years ago. Now, they make up around two thirds of the company's machinery – and rising. Two fully electric machines are also in use. However, given that they only achieve five percent more energy efficiency despite their higher purchase costs, the hybrid systems have the edge overall. "From a financial perspective, it makes more sense to continue to concentrate on hybrid machines in the future. The newer models also offer the advantage that the braking energy produced can be fed back into the grid – another plus in terms of their energy efficiency," explains Höller.


THE GIRA SERVICES

Increased use of hybrid machines instead of fully hydraulic systems


Energy and saving potentials of up to 60%


Returning braking energy to the grid

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

64 Maschinen arbeiten in der Spritzgießtechnik der Kunststofffertigung und verbrauchen gemeinsam mit der Peripherie eine enorme Menge an Energie. Deshalb steht der Maschinenpark auch im Fokus verstärkter Bemühungen um eine höhere Energieeffizienz. Zum Beispiel durch den Einsatz von neuen Antriebskonzepten: „Wir sind schon seit Jahren kontinuierlich dabei, auf energieeffizientere Maschinen umzurüsten“, berichtet Andreas Höller, Leiter Technische Anlagen der Kunststofffertigung.

Bei den herkömmlichen Maschinen handelt es sich um vollhydraulische Modelle. Diese sind zwar günstiger in der Anschaffung, jedoch besonders energieintensiv. Wesentlich sparsamer, dafür aber auch sehr viel teuerer in der Anschaffung sind vollelektrische Maschinen. Hybridmaschinen, eine Kombination aus beiden Systemen, verknüpfen die Vorteile beider Modelle. So verbraucht eine Hybridmaschine im Vergleich zu einer vollhydraulischen bis zu 60 Prozent weniger Energie.

Aus diesem Grund setzt auch Gira auf die sparsamen Hybridvarianten und hat bereits vor zehn Jahren damit angefangen, sie nach und nach anzuschaffen. Mittlerweile machen sie rund zwei Drittel des Maschinenparks aus – und ihr Anteil soll weiter steigen. Auch zwei vollelektrische Maschinen sind im Einsatz. Da sie jedoch angesichts ihrer wesentlich höheren Anschaffungskosten nur fünf Prozent mehr Energieeffizienz erzielen, haben die Hybridsysteme unter dem Strich die Nase vorn. „Aus wirtschaftlicher Sicht ist es sinnvoller, sich auch in Zukunft auf Hybridmaschinen zu konzentrieren. Zudem bieten die neueren Modelle auch den Vorteil, dass die produzierte Bremsenergie ins Netz zurückgespeist werden kann – ein weiterer Pluspunkt im Hinblick auf ihre Energieeffizienz“, erklärt Höller.


DIE GIRA LEISTUNGEN

Vermehrter Einsatz von Hybridmaschinen anstatt vollhydraulischen Maschinen


Energie- und Einsparpotenzial von bis zu 60 Prozent


Zurückspeisung der Bremsenergie ins Netz

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017