Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

The digitally networked intelligent home, a.k.a. the smart home, is no longer a vision, but increasingly a reality. The fascinating possibilities offered by digital control systems for home technology are generating an increasing amount of interest. Google searches for the term "smart home" have increased 25-fold over the past five years.1 However, the intelligent home has not yet become a mass phenomenon – for very diverse reasons. Time to take a snapshot of the current state of affairs and explore the question: where is the "smart home" today?

Turn up the heating while you're on the way home, control the stereo with voice commands, see from any location who just rang the doorbell – what until fairly recently sounded like raucous fiction is now technically feasible. And it's not just about the remote control of certain building technology functions via smartphone, but also about artificial intelligence (AI) in the home. Thanks to self-teaching algorithms it is already so advanced that devices and systems – similar to a self-driving car – can make independent decisions; for example to adjust the strength of light in a room when daylight increases. So what actually makes a home intelligent?

More explanation and information is required Let's take a look at existing buildings. The applications currently most prominent in intelligent homes are sensor-equipped and automatically controlled heating and ventilation systems, door lock systems, windows, awnings, blinds and lighting systems. This corresponds with the definition of a smart home as an "internally and externally networked home upgraded with information and sensor technology" 2, as the German economics dictionary "Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon" states. But, in terms of a practical example, does the option of being able to control the shower/WC at home with a smartphone app by selecting preset programs make the product "smart"? Or can we ascribe to it a certain intelligence only if it detects the degree of soiling with its sensors integrated in the ceramic and adjusts the flushing volume accordingly? These questions show that there is currently no clear differentiation between what may be termed "smart" and what not. "The dapper 'smart home' label attached to many technical gimmicks that offer no real contribution towards coordinated networking of the home, nor much added value, causes uncertainty and hesitation in many consumers," says Gira Managing Director Christian Feltgen, reminding the company of its responsibilities. "We need to provide clearer information." Transparent, simple and comprehensible explanations and offers of support are of key importance to explain the advantages of the smart home to people more effectively. According to surveys, vendors focus too much on technical capabilities and features, but too little on existing desires and questions.

84%

of 18-29 year-olds
find the topic
of networked living
very interesting.

 

 

 

62%

of 45-59 year-olds
think that
savings in energy costs
are a decisive
advantage of smart homes.

The smart home is a major trend In Germany, just nine percent of people feel that they are well informed about the technological smart home trend, although nine out of ten know the term. 84 percent of people aged 18 to 29 consider networked home living interesting or very interesting, and even among those aged 50+ that number is still more than half at 51 percent.3 Meanwhile, nearly two thirds of the people throughout the country are convinced that smart home solutions will prevail in the long term and are bound to become as commonplace as smartphones.4

But what can do what and who can do it with whom? Until then it is important to explain the practical advantages of intelligently networked home technology to consumers and what they should consider when deciding on a smart home solution. This is made more difficult not just because of the unclear terminology indicated above, but also by a confusing market that is being entered from several directions by an increasing number of suppliers offering more or less network-enabled devices. It is not always apparent which device is capable of what, which applications can be networked with others, and how it can all be integrated into a primary controller. This applies all the more as there is a large number of allegedly smart individual products of which each has its own manner and tools of operation. Due to this confusion caused by the many means of operation, users are quickly left with a sense of personal inadequacy and feel overwhelmed when handling the "new" technology, rather than gaining positive user experiences.

52%

of 30-44 year-olds
think that the heightened
security is the most
important smart home
argument.

 

 

39%

of 18-29 year-olds
think that smart homes
are "really cool".

WHAT DO WE UNDERSTAND BY SUSTAINABILITY?

Making complex systems manageable Such negative experiences and corresponding apprehensions play an important role among the 20 percent of the population who reject a smart networked home on principle. They claim there is excessive dependence on technology in everyday life or fear a loss of independence in their own home and have a fundamentally critical view of increasing digitalisation.5 Only those companies that manage to make the complex systems of digitally networked building control easy to handle and intuitive to operate, for the installer as well as for the user, will remain successful in the long term. And those who are able to manage the various communication channels and 'languages' of the different disciplines in building technology in such a way as to enable unproblematic communication between them," stresses Christian Feltgen, giving a reason why he believes that the abounding isolated solutions will not succeed in the future.

More energy efficiency Even more important for consumer acceptance of smart home solutions is, of course, the tangible advantages they offer. 62 percent of Germans aged 45 to 59 would install smart home technology if it resulted in energy cost savings. According to calculations by the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics, intelligent building technology control leads to potential savings for heating costs of up to 40 percent. This is surely an ideal case and not generally valid, however.6 Lighting with self-regulating intensity depending on the amount of daylight, or a heating system that turns the heat up or down depending on the outside temperature or the occupant's presence, can help to improve energy efficiency at home. The same applies to a smart meter, an intelligent electricity meter that will autonomously obtain electricity at the most economical times. Operating devices with a high electricity consumption, on the other hand, will again increase energy use. Several factors determine the amount of energy savings in a smart home in each individual case: for example, personal temperature sensitivity and usage behaviour of the occupants, but also the building materials and the location of the building play an important role. 7

More security To more than half of people aged 30 to 44, increased security is another argument in favour of a networked home.8 Automated security technologies, such as motion detectors that send information to the owner when triggered or comprehensive alarm systems, are also becoming increasingly popular. Interest is also growing in networked security technology that can be integrated into a system, especially smoke, gas, CO₂ and leakage alarm devices.

20%

of the population reject
smart homes.

 

92%

see the future of
smart homes in
age-relevant
assistance systems
for homes.

 

40%

lower energy costs
in an ideal case
seem to be possible with an intelligent
home control system.

Assistance systems for self-determined living Ensuring a self-determined life in one's own home up to an old age is viewed as another potential benefit of smart home solutions by end users in Germany. 92 percent take a favourable view towards smart, age-appropriate assistance systems for their own four walls. The range of appropriate products includes orientation lights that are automatically controlled by motion detectors, making night-time visits to the bathroom safer, or hand-held wireless transmitters that detect medical emergencies via a pulse measurement function and automatically contact emergency responders. In this respect, however, even the most intelligent technology for this Ambient Assisted Living cannot replace personal care, especially in the case of patients or other people in need of care. But it will give people significantly more self-determination. In this context, it is of course important to prevent any ineffective or unethical invasions of privacy from the outset.

At the user's service Smart home solutions will only reach the mass market when they represent an affordable investment for many people. This requires, on the one hand,"good - better- best" solutions to become available in the foreseeable future at their respective price levels, but also offering different performance packages. On the other hand, hardware as well as software must always be updateable, allowing for new functions to be integrated with little effort. "For customers this means they can have peace of mind when investing in a specific system, as it will continue to serve them for many years to come," explains Christian Feltgen. And that personal data security and protection against unauthorised external access are quickly updated. This is best realised using encrypted data transmission and a security concept covering all systems and all network devices and servers in the building. "This corresponds to our approach that a good smart home system takes into account and serves the user," emphasises Christian Feltgen. "It also includes that users are at liberty to decide at any given moment how smart they would like their homes to be. Meaning that it's the user who determines how much control he is willing to hand over. The answers to this will be different, but unwanted loss of control certainly won't provide anyone with a positive user experience."

SOURCES
 

1
www.intelligenteswohnen.com


2
wirtschaftslexikon.gabler.de


3
de.statista.com


4
de.statista.com


5
de.statista.com


6
www.focus.de


7
www.verbraucherzentrale.de


8
GfK: "Consumer Life",
2016 – featured in:
"Tech Trends 2017",
GfK 03/2017 (values for
Germany)

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Das digital vernetzte, intelligente Zuhause, das „Smart Home“, ist längst keine Vision mehr, sondern inzwischen vielfach gebaute Realität – Tendenz steigend. Und die faszinierenden Möglichkeiten, die die digitale Steuerung der Haustechnik bietet, finden immer mehr Interessenten: 25-mal so häufig wie noch vor fünf Jahren wird heute der Begriff „Smart Home“ über die Suchmaschine Google gesucht.1 Dennoch ist das „intelligente Heim“ nach wie vor kein Massenphänomen – aus ganz unterschiedlichen Gründen. Zeit für eine Momentaufnahme, die der Frage nachgeht: Wo steht das „Smart Home“ heute?

Die Heizung schon auf dem Heimweg aufdrehen, die HiFi-Anlage per Sprachsteuerung bedienen, von unterwegs sehen, wer gerade an der Haustür geklingelt hat: Was vor nicht allzu langer Zeit noch nach wilder Fiktion klang, ist heute technisch ohne weiteres machbar. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Fernsteuerung bestimmter haustechnischer Funktionen per Smartphone, sondern auch um künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in den eigenen vier Wänden. Dank selbstlernender Algorithmen ist sie bereits so weit, dass Geräte und Anlagen – ähnlich wie im selbstfahrenden Auto – eigene Entscheidungen treffen können: etwa die Beleuchtungsstärke in einem Raum zu reduzieren, wenn dort der Tageslichteintrag zunimmt. Was also macht ein Haus oder eine Wohnung tatsächlich intelligent?

Aufklärungsarbeit tut not Schauen wir uns einfach einmal die gebaute Wirklichkeit an. Die aktuell prominentesten Anwendungen im intelligenten Zuhause sind mit Sensorik versehene, automatisiert gesteuerte Heizungen, Lüftungen, Türschlosssysteme, Fenster, Markisen, Jalousien und Beleuchtungssysteme. Dies deckt sich mit der „Smart Home“-Definition als ein „informations- und sensortechnisch aufgerüstetes, in sich selbst und nach außen hin vernetztes Zuhause“ 2, wie sie das „Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon“ anbietet. Aber macht die Möglichkeit, um ein praktisches Beispiel zu nehmen, das heimische Dusch-WC über eine Smartphone-App zu bedienen und dort voreingestellte Programme abzurufen, das Produkt schon „smart“? Oder können wir ihm erst eine gewisse Intelligenz zuschreiben, wenn es über in die Keramik eingebrannte Sensoren den Verschmutzungsgrad erkennt und das Spülvolumen entsprechend anpasst? Die Fragen zeigen: Eine klare Differenzierung, was sich „smart“ nennen darf und was nicht, gibt es derzeit nicht. „Dass heute das schmucke Etikett ‚Smart Home’ an vielen technischen Spielereien klebt, die keinen echten Beitrag zur abgestimmten Vernetzung des Hauses leisten und wenig Mehrwerte liefern, sorgt bei vielen Verbrauchern für Unsicherheit und Zurückhaltung“, sagt Gira Geschäftsführer Christian Feltgen, um das Unternehmen in die Pflicht zu nehmen: „Wir müssen bessere Aufklärungsarbeit machen.“ Um den Menschen die Vorteile eines „Smart Home“ näher zu bringen, sind transparente, einfach nachvollziehbare Erläuterungen und Hilfestellungen von großer Bedeutung. Aktuell gehen Anbieter laut Befragungen zu sehr auf technische Möglichkeiten und Features, aber zu wenig auf bestehende Wünsche und Fragen ein.

84 %

der 18-29-Jährigen
findet das Thema
vernetztes Wohnen
sehr interessant.

 

 

 

62 %

der 45-59-Jährigen
halten die
Energiekosteneinsparung
für den entscheidenden
Vorteil von Smart Homes.

„Smart Home“ liegt im Trend Tatsächlich fühlen sich in Deutschland nur neun Prozent der Menschen gut über den Techniktrend „Smart Home“ informiert, obwohl neun von zehn Menschen den Begriff kennen. Dabei halten 84 Prozent der 18-29-Jährigen hierzulande vernetztes Wohnen für interessant oder sehr interessant; in der Gruppe der über 50-Jährigen sind es mit 51 Prozent immerhin noch mehr als die Hälfte.3 Dass sich „Smart Home“-Lösungen langfristig durchsetzen und zukünftig im Umgang so selbstverständlich wie Smartphones werden, davon sind bereits jetzt knapp zwei Drittel zwischen Flensburg und Mittenwald überzeugt.4

Doch was kann was, und wer kann mit wem? Doch bis dahin gilt es, bei den Verbrauchern Klarheit zu schaffen, worin der praktische Nutzen intelligent vernetzter Haustechnik besteht und worauf zu achten ist, wenn man sich für eine „Smart Home“-Lösung entscheidet. Erschwert wird dies nicht nur durch die schon beschriebene unklare Begrifflichkeit, sondern auch durch einen unübersichtlichen Markt, auf den aus vielen Richtungen immer neue Anbieter mit mehr oder weniger vernetzbaren Geräten drängen. Welches Gerät was kann, welche Anwendungen mit anderen vernetzbar sind und wie die Einbindung in eine übergeordnete Steuerung funktioniert, ist nicht immer offensichtlich. Dies gilt umso mehr, als es eine Vielzahl vermeintlich smarter Einzelprodukte gibt, von denen jedes wieder eine je eigene Art und ein eigenes Werkzeug der Bedienung hat. Anstelle positiver Nutzererlebnisse überwiegt dann beim Anwender angesichts dieses unübersichtlichen Bedien-Dickichts schnell das Gefühl eigener Unzulänglichkeit und Überforderung im Umgang mit der „neuen“ Technik.

52 %

der 30-44-Jährigen
halten die erhöhte
Sicherheit für das
wichtigste Smart-Home-
Argument.

 

 

39 %

der 18-29-Jährigen
finden Smart Homes
schlichtweg „cool“.

WAS VERSTEHEN WIR UNTER NACHHALTIGKEIT?

Komplexe Systeme handhabbar machen Tatsächlich spielen solch negative Erlebnisse oder entsprechende Befürchtungen bei den 20 Prozent der Bevölkerung, die ein intelligent vernetztes Zuhauses prinzipiell ablehnen, eine wichtige Rolle. Sie argumentieren mit einer zu starken Abhängigkeit von Technologien im Alltag oder dem Verlust der Eigenständigkeit in den eigenen vier Wänden und üben grundsätzlich Kritik an der zunehmenden Digitalisierung.5 „Es werden hier nur die Unternehmen dauerhaft erfolgreich sein, denen es gelingt, die komplexen Systeme digital vernetzter Gebäudesteuerung sowohl für den Installateur als auch für den Anwender einfach handhabbar und intuitiv bedienbar zu machen. Und die es schaffen, die unterschiedlichen Kommunikationswege und ‚Sprachen’ der verschiedenen Gewerke der Haustechnik so zu beherrschen, dass eine problemlose Kommunikation zwischen ihnen möglich ist“, betont denn auch Christian Feltgen und begründet damit, warum die heute sehr präsenten Insellösungen aus seiner Sicht kaum eine Zukunft haben.

Mehr Energieeffizienz Noch wichtiger für die Akzeptanz von „Smart Home“-Lösungen beim Verbraucher ist freilich der konkrete Nutzen, den sie stiften. So würden sich 62 Prozent der 45- bis 59-Jährigen in Deutschland ein „Smart Home“ einrichten, wenn dies Einsparungen bei den Energiekosten mit sich bringt. Die Einsparpotentiale bei den Heizkosten liegen mit einer intelligenten Haustechniksteuerung nach Berechnungen des Fraunhofer Instituts für Bauphysik bei bis zu 40 Prozent. Das ist jedoch sicher der Idealfall und nicht allgemeingültig.6 Die Beleuchtung, deren Stärke sich nach dem Tageslichteintrag selbst reguliert, oder die Heizung, die die Zimmertemperatur abhängig von der Außentemperatur und der Anwesenheit der Bewohner hoch- oder herunterfährt, können dazu beitragen, die Energieeffizienz in den eigenen vier Wänden zu verbessern. Dasselbe gilt für ein Smart Meter, einen intelligenten Stromzähler, der Strom selbstständig zu den günstigsten Zeiten bezieht. Andererseits kann sich beispielsweise durch stromintensive Bediengeräte der Verbrauch auch wieder erhöhen. Wie die Einsparungen in einem „Smart Home“ im Einzelfall tatsächlich ausfallen, hängt von mehreren Faktoren ab: So spielen individuelles Wärmeempfinden und Verbrauchsverhalten der Bewohner, aber auch die Bausubstanz und die Lage des Gebäudes eine große Rolle.7

Mehr Sicherheit Ein Mehr an Sicherheit ist ein weiteres Argument, das für mehr als die Hälfte der 30- bis 44-Jährigen für ein vernetztes Eigenheim spricht.8 Zunehmender Beliebtheit erfreuen sich daher automatisierte Sicherheitstechniken wie etwa Bewegungsmelder, die bei Auslösen Informationen an den Inhaber senden, oder umfassende Alarmsysteme. Ebenso wächst das Interesse an vernetzter Sicherheitstechnik, die in ein System eingebunden werden können, hier vor allem an Rauch-, Gas-, CO₂- und Leckagen-Warnmeldern.

20 %

der Bevölkerung lehnen
Smart Homes ab.

 

92 %

sehen die Zukunft des
Smart Homes im
altersgerechten
Assitenzsystemen für
Zuhause.

 

40 %

weniger Energiekosten
erscheinen im Idealfall
durch eine intelligente
Haussteuerunng möglich.

Assistenzsysteme für selbstbestimmtes Leben Weiteres Nutzenpotential von „Smart Home“-Lösungen sehen die Endverbraucher in Deutschland in der Sicherung eines selbstbestimmten Lebens im eigenen Zuhause bis ins hohe Alter hinein. 92 Prozent von ihnen können smarten, altersgerechten Assistenzsystemen für die eigenen vier Wände etwas abgewinnen. Die Palette entsprechender Produkte beginnt bei der per Bewegungsmelder automatisch gesteuerten Orientierungsbeleuchtung, die den nächtlichen Gang ins Bad sicherer macht, und reicht bis zum tragbaren Funksender, der gesundheitliche Notfallsituationen mittels einer Pulsmessfunktion erkennt und selbsttätig Rettungskräfte alarmiert. Allerdings kann in diesem Bereich des sogenannten Ambient Assisted Living auch die intelligenteste Technik nie persönliche Fürsorge ersetzen, insbesondere wenn es um Patienten oder Pflegebedürftige geht. Wohl wird sie aber den Menschen deutlich mehr Selbstbestimmung ermöglichen. Selbstverständlich gilt es in diesem Zusammenhang, unwirksamen oder unethischen Eingriffen in die Privatsphäre von vorneherein vorzubeugen.

Im Dienst des Nutzers Den Massenmarkt werden „Smart Home“-Lösungen aber erst dann erreichen, wenn sie für viele eine erschwingliche Investition darstellen. Dies setzt zum einen voraus, dass in absehbarer Zeit „Good – Better – Best“-Lösungen zu entsprechenden Preispunkten, aber auch mit unterschiedlichen Leistungspaketen im Angebot sind. Zum zweiten müssen sowohl Hard- als auch Software grundsätzlich updatefähig sein, sodass sich ohne großen Aufwand neue Funktionen integrieren lassen. „Für den Kunden ist nur so gewährleistet, dass seine Investition in ein entsprechendes System auch in Zukunft Bestand hat“, erklärt Christian Feltgen. Und dass die Sicherheit der eigenen Daten und der Schutz vor unerlaubten Zugriffen von außen zügig auf dem neusten Stand sind. Am besten durch eine voll verschlüsselte Datenübertragung und ein Gewerke übergreifendes Sicherheitskonzept, das alle Netzwerkgeräte und Server im Haus umfasst. „Dies entspricht unserem Ansatz, dass sich ein gutes ‚Smart Home’-System nach dem Nutzer richtet und in dessen Dienst steht“, hebt Christian Feltgen hervor. „Dazu gehört auch, dass der Nutzer in jedem Moment die Freiheit hat, selbst zu entscheiden, wie smart er es denn persönlich zu Hause haben möchte. Sprich: Es ist der Nutzer, der bestimmt, wieviel Kontrolle er abgibt. Die Antworten darauf werden unterschiedlich ausfallen, doch ungewollter Kontrollverlust sorgt sicher bei niemandem für positive Nutzererlebnisse.“

QUELLEN
 

1
www.intelligenteswohnen.com


2
wirtschaftslexikon.gabler.de


3
de.statista.com


4
de.statista.com


5
de.statista.com


6
www.focus.de


7
www.verbraucherzentrale.de


8
GfK: „Consumer Life“,
2016 – erschienen in:
„Tech Trends 2017“,
GfK 03/2017 (Werte für
Deutschland)

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017