Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Inspiration for lowering energy consumption Global energy consumption is continuing to rise. But resources that still play an important role in energy generation such as oil, coal and gas are not available in unlimited quantities. At the same time the consumption of fossil fuels is one of the main reasons for global warming and its consequences for us and the environment. In light of this fact, the resource-conserving and efficient use of energy is incredibly important. It is essential to protect the environment and curb climate change. In addition, the necessity to improve energy efficiency in almost all areas of life provides important impetus to develop new solutions for sustainable resource and energy management, to learn and to gain important experience.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

 

PROJECT COMPONENTS

34% of our product developments contribute directly to the energy efficiency of buildings

Concepts for new, energy-efficient building technology solutions and devices

Extension of the Gira eNet system and the Gira KNX system

Focus on building automation Buildings make up over 40 percent of the total primary energy consumption in Europe. For this reason it makes sense to examine this particular sector in detail for efficiency optimisation and potential for savings. The energy savings potential of building shells and system technology has, however, been nearly exhausted. Achieving further savings is now almost only possible when the energy required in the building can be made available and used efficiently, and this is only possible with suitable building automation.

Resource-efficient solutionsWith this background Gira has developed a concept that makes it possible to offer solutions to customers who want to run their buildings sustainably. The starting point for considerations is the control circuit of a building, as developed by Professor Martin Becker [Biberach University of Applied Sciences]. This approach was picked up by Gira, selectively developed and elaborated to become the basis of our framework to drive forward resource-efficient solutions.

PROJECT TEAM


Andreas Kobold
[Product Manager
Building System Technology]



Manfred Faust [Head of the
Building
Automation product range]



Markus Fromm-Wittenberg
[Head of Application and
Cooperation]



Roland Seifert [Head of
Technology Management]


Three approaches
 Basically there are three approaches with the Gira range: The first is conventional electrical installation, and this already has a substantial effect without a great deal of effort. A great deal of energy can already be saved with a number of conventional products, such as motion detectors, timers, room temperature controllers or hygrostats and CO₂ sensors. In addition, there is the second approach of the Gira radio bus system. It can be used to exchange or add various functions without having to prise open the wall. Consumption can be measured using energy sensors and transmitted to the Gira eNet Server. As the most ambitious version, the Gira KNX system also permits high efficiency increases by means of requirement-based energy management. It can be flexibly adapted to new requirements and can be intuitively operated with push button sensors, control clients, PCs or smartphones and tablets.

 

Fig.: Displayable
resources in the Gira
resources plug-in

Concrete contribution to energy efficiency The first products that Gira has developed on the basis of the new concept are already successful on the market. These include the Gira KNX energy meter and the Gira resource plug-in presented at the Light & Building 2014 trade fair. In summary it can be said that 34 percent of our development projects make a direct contribution to energy efficiency. Their implementation is to be continuously driven forward in the individual project areas. The concept development team is always at hand with tips and advice.

34%

of the development projects make a direct contribution to energy efficiency

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Impulse für weniger Energieverbrauch Der weltweite Energiebedarf steigt immer weiter an. Doch Ressourcen, die wie Öl, Kohle und Gas nach wie vor eine große Rolle für die Energiegewinnung spielen, stehen nicht unbegrenzt zur Verfügung. Zugleich ist die fossile Erzeugung von Energie eine der Hauptursachen für die Erderwärmung und deren Folgen für Mensch und Umwelt. Vor diesem Hintergrund kommt dem ressourcenschonenden und effizienten Umgang mit Energie eine zentrale Bedeutung zu. Dieser ist unbedingt erforderlich, um die Umwelt zu entlasten und den Klimawandel einzudämmen. Außerdem liefert die Notwendigkeit zur Verbesserung der Energieeffizienz in nahezu allen Lebensbereichen wichtige Impulse, um Lösungen für ein nachhaltiges Ressourcen- und Energiemanagement zu entwickeln, zu lernen und neue, wertvolle Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

 

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

34 % unserer Produktentwicklungen leisten einen unmittelbaren Beitrag zur Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden

Konzeption neuer energieeffizienter
Gebäudetechniklösungen
und -geräte

Ausbau des Gira
eNet-Systems und Gira
KNX-Systems

Fokus auf Gebäudeautomation Mit mehr als 40 Prozent tragen Gebäude zum gesamten Primärenergieverbrauch in Europa bei. Deshalb ist es sinnvoll, diesen Sektor auf die mögliche Effizienzoptimierung und Einsparpotentiale hin genau zu untersuchen. Die Energieeinsparpotentiale von Gebäudehülle und Anlagentechnik sind jedoch mittlerweile nahezu ausgeschöpft. Weitere Einsparungen lassen sich fast nur noch erzielen, wenn die im Gebäude benötigte Energie effizient zur Verfügung gestellt und genutzt wird, und das kann ausschließlich über eine geeignete Gebäudeautomation geschehen.

Ressourceneffiziente LösungenVor diesem Hintergrund hat Gira ein Konzept entwickelt, das es ermöglicht, Lösungen für die Kunden anzubieten, die ihre Gebäude nachhaltig betreiben wollen. Den Ausgangspunkt der Überlegungen bildet der Regelkreis eines Gebäudes, wie er von Professor Martin Becker [Hochschule Biberach] erarbeitet wurde. Dieser Ansatz wurde von Gira aufgegriffen, zielgerichtet weiterentwickelt und so zur Grundlage unserer Leitplanke ausgearbeitet, um ressourceneffiziente Lösungen voranzubringen.

PROJEKTTEAM


Andreas Kobold
[Produktmanager
Gebäudesystemtechnik]



Manfred Faust [Leiter
Produktlinie Building
Automation]



Markus Fromm-Wittenberg
[Leiter Anwendung und
Kooperation]



Roland Seifert [Leiter
Technolgiemanagement]


Drei Lösungsansätze
 Grundsätzlich stehen mit dem Sortiment von Gira drei Lösungsansätze zur Verfügung: Der erste ist die konventionelle Elektroinstallation, diese erreicht schon mit geringem Aufwand eine große Wirkung. Mit zahlreichen konventionellen Produkten lässt sich bereits einiges an Energie sparen, wie zum Beispiel mit Bewegungsmelder, Zeitschaltuhr, Raumtemperatur-Regler oder Hygrostat und CO²-Sensor. Darüber hinaus gibt es als zweiten Lösungsansatz das Gira Funk-Bussystem für die einfache Nachrüstung. Mit ihm können zahlreiche Funktionen ohne Aufstemmen der Wände ausgetauscht oder hinzugefügt werden. Verbräuche können über Energiesensoren gemessen und an den Gira eNet Server übertragen werden. Als anspruchsvollste Variante ermöglicht zudem das Gira KNX System große Effizienzgewinne durch ein bedarfsgerechtesEnergiemanagement. Es ist flexibel an neue Anforderungen anpassbar und lässt sich intuitiv über Tastsensoren, Control Clients, PC oder Smartphones und Tablets bedienen.

 

Abb.: Darstellbare
Ressourcen im Gira
Ressourcen-Plugin

Konkreter Beitrag zur Energieeffizienz Erste Produkte, die Gira basierend auf dem neuen Konzept entwickelt hat, sind bereits erfolgreich im Markt. Dazu zählen etwa die auf der Fachmesse Light & Building 2014 präsentierten Gira KNX Energiezähler und das Gira Ressourcen Plugin. Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass 34 Prozent unserer Entwicklungsprojekte einen unmittelbaren Beitrag zur Energieeffizienz leisten. Deren Umsetzung soll kontinuierlich in den einzelnen Produktbereichen vorangetrieben werden. Das Team der Konzeptentwicklung steht dabei beratend zur Seite.

34 %

der Entwicklungsprojekte leisten einen unmittelbaren Beitrag zur Energieeffizienz

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017