Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

From the viewpoint of customers One of the main tasks in a company is the continuous assessment and improvement of processes. Gira also constantly works on improvements. The methods of lean management, which have been used at Gira for some time, prove particularly effective and have already reaped positive benefits for the company. In particular, the Improvement Kata developed at Toyota, a standardised procedure for dealing with problems and challenges, produces good results. The aim is to align processes entirely with the interests of the customer and examine them from their point of view. The continuous application of this approach in our everyday work should, amongst other things, increase value creation by avoiding any kind of wastage. After all, waste is not in the customer's best interests.  This has both economic and ecological components: on the one hand costs are saved, and on the other the consumption of resources is reduced. Both are key requirements for sustainable action.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

 

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Training of employees in the Improvement Kata since 2012

Improvement projects in 2015

"Route train" example project

Promoting a positive attitude to change The social aspects of sustainability are also reflected in lean management. Ultimately optimisation of working conditions as well as employee training are important elements of this concept. "We want to make improving the organisation and process a permanent task," says Martin Brochhaus, Head of Internal Corporate Development. To this purpose, since 2012 a long-term project has been ongoing in which all managers and selected experts are given training in the Improvement Kata as improvers or coaches. This is not only implemented in production, but gradually also in all departments. Initial successes have, for example, already been achieved in the service centre and HR department. "Participants are shown that constant improvement is possible. As a result, they can develop a positive attitude to change and carry this through to their departments," explains Andreas Dürwald, Head of Manufacturing and Logistics. "We have therefore set the ball rolling for a major project of change," emphasises Brochhaus. "Sustainability means acting responsibly with a view to the future. This also goes hand in hand with change – after all, this is the only way to develop further. We empower people to do that."

PROJECT TEAM


Steering Committee



Trainers



All improvers
and coaches

 Employees take care of improvements themselves How this works in practical terms is shown by a number of optimisation concepts developed and implemented by Gira employees – for example the development of the so-called route train. This is a special trailer designed to help move the transport boxes from the automatic small parts warehouse [AKL] to production and at the same time considerably lower the physical strain on employees. The starting point was optimising the route for transport from the AKL to the production segments. During the necessary investigations it became apparent that the physical strain on employees unloading the transport boxes was very high, especially on their backs. Employees then collaborated to come up with a concept showing how an ergonomically optimised alternative would have to be. While searching for a solution, they worked very hard on developing a trailer prototype that would be very suitable for transporting the boxes and that makes it unnecessary to lift them. The trailer can then be pulled by a so-called pick-up train. Gira went along with the proposed improvement and is having the trailer made. From the spring of 2016, a prototype of the vehicle will be taken into operation in the assembly shop. Several of the new route trains comprising a towing vehicle and up to four trailers are planned for the Gira new building, into which the assembly shop will be moving in 2018. Fully in line with lean management principles, employees developed individual solutions during the improvement project which they successfully implemented.

TEAM OF THE
"ROUTE TRAIN" IMPROVEMENT PROJECT

 

Rainer Scharwächter
[Shift Supervisor
Received Goods]



Ricarda Soyck-Lockner
[Head of Human Resource Management]



Torsten Pudzich [Head of
Received Goods]



Thomas Haupt [Head of
Technical Systems]



Andreas vom Stein
[Process Optimisation]



Kerstin Höninger
[Consultant and
Trainer]

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Aus dem Blickwinkel des Kunden Zu den wichtigen Aufgaben in einem Unternehmen gehören die kontinuierliche Überprüfung und Optimierung von Prozessen. Auch bei Gira wird ständig an Verbesserungen gearbeitet. Als besonders zielführend erweisen sich dabei die Methoden des Lean Managements, des »schlanken« Managements, die bei Gira seit einiger Zeit eingesetzt werden und bereits positive Wirkungen entfalten. Insbesondere die bei Toyota entwickelte »Verbesserungs-Kata« – eine standardisierte Vorgehensweise für den  Umgang mit Problemen und Herausforderungen – zeigt gute Ergebnisse. Dabei geht es darum, Prozesse ganz auf das Interesse des Kunden auszurichten und aus seinem Blickwinkel zu betrachten. Durch die kontinuierliche Anwendung dieses Ansatzes im Arbeitsalltag soll zum Beispiel die Wertschöpfung erhöht werden, indem man jede Art von Verschwendung vermeidet. Denn sie ist nicht im Sinne des Kunden.  Dies hat sowohl eine wirtschaftliche als auch eine ökologische Komponente: Einerseits lassen sich so Kosten einsparen, anderseits verringert sich der Verbrauch von Ressourcen. Beides sind zentrale Anforderungen an nachhaltiges Handeln.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

 

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Ausbildung von Mitarbeitern
in der Verbesserungs-Kata
seit 2012

Verbesserungsprojekte
im Jahr 2015

Beispielprojekt »Routenzug«

Positive Einstellung zu Veränderungen fördern Auch die soziale Komponente von Nachhaltigkeit findet sich im Lean Management wieder. Schließlich sind die Optimierung der Arbeitsbedingungen sowie die Qualifizierung der Mitarbeiter wichtige Bestandteile dieses Konzepts. »Wir wollen Verbesserungen der Organisation und der Prozesse zur permanenten Aufgabe machen«, sagt Martin Brochhaus, Leiter Interne Unternehmensentwicklung. Dafür werden seit 2012 in einem langfristigen Projekt alle Führungskräfte und ausgesuchte Fachkräfte in der Verbesserungs-Kata als Verbesserer oder Coaches ausgebildet. Die Umsetzung erfolgt nicht nur in der Produktion, sondern Schritt für Schritt über alle Abteilungen hinweg. Erste Erfolge werden beispielsweise in den Abteilungen Service-Center und Personal erzielt. »Den Teilnehmern wird vermittelt, dass es möglich ist, sich ständig zu verbessern. Sie sollen so eine positive Einstellung zu Veränderungen entwickeln und später in ihre Abteilung hineintragen«, erklärt Andreas Dürwald, Leiter Fertigung und Logistik. »Wir haben damit ein großes Veränderungsprojekt angestoßen«, betont Brochhaus. »Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet verantwortungsvoll und mit Blick auf die Zukunft zu handeln. Damit gehen auch Veränderungen einher – denn nur so kann man sich auch weiterentwickeln. Wir befähigen die Menschen dazu, das zu tun.«

PROJEKTTEAM


Steuerkreis



Trainer



Alle Verbesserer
und Coaches

 Mitarbeiter sorgen selbst für Verbesserungen Wie dies in der Praxis funktioniert, zeigendie vielfältigen Optimierungen, die von Gira Mitarbeitern konzipiert und umgesetzt wurden – etwa die Entwicklung des sogenannten Routenzugs. Es handelt sich um einen speziellen Anhänger, der dabei helfen soll, die Transportkisten vom Automatischen Kleinteilelager [AKL] in die Produktion zu bewegen und gleichzeitig die körperliche Belastung der Mitarbeiter entscheidend zu verringern. Ausgangspunkt war die Erarbeitung einer Wegeoptimierung für den Transport vom AKL in die Segmente der Produktion. Im Rahmen der dafür erforderlichen Untersuchungen ist aufgefallen, dass die körperliche Belastung der Mitarbeiter beim Abladen der Transportkisten vor allem für die Rückenpartie sehr hoch war. Daraufhin haben die Mitarbeiter gemeinsam überlegt, wie eine ergonomisch optimierte Alternative aussehen müsste. Im Zuge der Lösungssuche haben sie mit viel Engagement den Prototyp eines Anhängers entwickelt, der sich hervorragend für den Transport der Kisten eignet und es unnötig macht, diese anzuheben. Der Anhänger kann dann von einer sogenannten Mitfahrlokomotive gezogen werden. Gira hat den Verbesserungsvorschlag aufgegriffen und lässt den Anhänger herstellen. Ab dem Frühjahr 2016 wird das Fahrzeug zunächst in einer Vorversion in der Montage zum Einsatz kommen. Für den Gira Neubau, in den die Montage 2018 umzieht, sind mehrere Exemplare des Routenzugs bestehend aus Lokomotive und bis zu vier Anhängern geplant. Ganz im Sinne des Lean Managements haben Mitarbeiter in dem Verbesserungsprojekt individuelle Lösungen entwickelt und erfolgreich umgesetzt.

TEAM VERBESSERUNGSPROJEKT
»ROUTENZUG«

 

Rainer Scharwächter
[Schichtleitung
Wareneingang]



Ricarda Soyck-Lockner
[Leiterin Personalmanagement]



Torsten Pudzich [Leiter
Wareneingang]



Thomas Haupt [Leiter
Technische Anlagen]



Andreas vom Stein
[Prozessoptimierung]



Kerstin Höninger
[Personalreferentin und
Trainerin]

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017