Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Responsible conduct as a foundation We want to be a positive example and make a contribution to the sustainable development of our society. To achieve this, we are not only active every single day on all company levels, but also throughout the region and sectors in which we work. We are also guided by the national sustainability strategy of the German government. We regard sustainability from both an ethical perspective and also as a contemporary element of effective and efficient business risk and value management.

GLOSSARY:



What is a "Code of Conduct"?

A Code of Conduct
is a voluntary commitment to compliance with internal and external procedural directives.

ON WHAT IS THE GIRA CODE OF CONDUCT BASED?

Maintaining our future viability For Gira, sustainable conduct means integrating ecological, social and economic aspects equally into the company's decision processes. We want to create win-win situations for both companies and society. In concrete terms, this means efficient implementation of the right things in our company, lowering costs, boosting our motivation and reputation and securing the loyalty of good employees. We want to develop reliable products that provide answers to social challenges and important trends. One thing is certain today: Sustainability and innovation are interdependent. This is in keeping with Gira and our philosophy. We are firmly convinced that sustainable business opens up many opportunities and great potential which in the medium and long term can evolve into an important strategic advantage for
Gira. Essentially, the focus is on securing our future viability.

Orientation for daily work Sustainable conduct in everyday work requires repeated, balanced decisions. With the Gira Code of Conduct we have given our employees reliable orientation for their daily work. The Code of Conduct therefore provides a framework for our business management and is the living expression of our vision of sustainability and integrity. Every possible decision must be examined with regard to its economic, ecological and social consequences to ensure that it is examined from an all-round perspective.

THE "GIRA CODE OF
CONDUCT"
DEALS WITH THE FOLLOWING TOPICS:

 

Legislation, standards

Compliance with legislation
and social
standards



People

Dealing with customers/
Dealing with employees/
Dealing with market partners
and suppliers



The environment

Resource consumption/
Emissions/
Handling hazardous substances/
Waste prevention,
recyclability/
Polluting
raw materials



Business

Products and services/
Corruption and bribery/Data protection and data security

"Serious sustainability orientation requires consideration of the entire value chain."

Jan Böttcher, responsible for Sustainability Management

Our demands towards our suppliers The responsibility of Gira should not begin or end at its own factory gates. In fact, serious sustainability orientation requires consideration of the entire value chain. Suppliers and sub-suppliers are one main focus. With this in mind, we have formulated a special Code of Conduct for Suppliers alongside our own that reflects national and international rules and regulations as well as values and social conventions which Gira regards as an essential basis for responsible collaboration. This mainly centres on compliance with the core working standard of the International Labour Organization [ILO] and the principles of the UN Global Compact. As the foundations for long-term, successful collaboration with Gira, our suppliers are obliged to accept and comply with the requirements that it contains. In addition, they should select and examine their own suppliers in line with the same criteria.

 

__________________________

Downloads:
Gira Code of Conduct
Gira Code of Conduct for Suppliers

__________________________

Links:
International Labour Organisation
Global Compact Network Germany

THE "GIRA CODE OF
CONDUCT FOR
SUPPLIERS"
FOCUSES ON THE FOLLOWING
TOPICS:


Legislation, standards

Compliance with legislation
and social
standards



People

Human rights and
working standards/
Forced and child labour/
Humane
treatment without
discrimination/
Health and safety/
Wages and working hours



The environment

Resource consumption/
Emissions/
Handling hazardous substances/
Waste prevention, recyclability/
Polluting
raw materials



Business

Corruption and bribery/
Gifts and
invitations/
Services and products
Collaboration
Joint activities and
practical interaction/
Reporting violations/
Possible consequences



Collaboration

Joint activities and
practical interaction/
Reporting violations/
Possible consequences

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Verantwortungsvolles Verhalten als Grundlage Wir wollen mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen und so unseren Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft leisten. Um dies zu tun, engagieren wir uns Tag für Tag auf allen Unternehmensebenen, ebenso in den Regionen und in den Branchen, in denen wir tätig sind. Dabei hilft uns auch die Orientierung an der nationalen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der Bundesregierung. Wir betrachten Nachhaltigkeit sowohl aus einer ethischen Perspektive wie auch als zeitgemäßen Baustein für ein effektives und effizientes betriebswirtschaftliches Risiko- und Wertemanagement.

GLOSSAR:



Was ist ein »Code of Conduct«?

Ein Code of Conduct
[im Deutschen als Verhaltenskodex bezeichnet] ist eine freiwillige Selbstverpflichtung zur Einhaltung von internen und externen Verhaltensrichtlinien.

WORAUS LEITET SICH DER GIRA CODE OF CONDUCT HER?

Sicherung unserer Zukunftsfähigkeit Nachhaltiges Handeln bedeutet für Gira, ökologische, soziale und ökonomische Aspekte gleichberechtigt in die unternehmerischen Entscheidungsprozesse zu integrieren. Wir wollen Win-Win-Situationen für Unternehmen und Gesellschaft gleichermaßen schaffen. Im Betrieb geht es konkret darum, die richtigen Dinge effizient umzusetzen, Kosten zu reduzieren, Motivation und Reputation zu steigern und gute Mitarbeiter an uns zu binden. Wir wollen verlässliche Produkte entwickeln, die Antworten auf gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen und bedeutende Trends bieten. Eins ist heutzutage klar: Nachhaltigkeit und Innovation bedingen sich. Das passt zu Gira und unserer Philosophie. Wir sind der festen Überzeugung, dass nachhaltiges Wirtschaften viele Chancenpotentiale mit sich bringt, die sich mittel- und langfristig zu einem bedeutenden strategischen Vorteil für
Gira entwickeln können. Im Kern geht es um die Sicherung unserer Zukunftsfähigkeit.

Eine Orientierung für die tägliche Arbeit Nachhaltiges Handeln erfordert im Arbeitsalltag immer wieder aufs Neue ausgewogene Entscheidungen. Mit dem Gira Code of Conduct haben wir unseren Mitarbeitern eine verlässliche Orientierung für die tägliche Arbeit gegeben. Der Verhaltenskodex bildet somit die Leitplanken unseres Wirtschaftens und ist gelebter Ausdruck unserer Vision von Nachhaltigkeit und Integrität. Jede Entscheidungsalternative ist hinsichtlich ihrer ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Auswirkungen zu prüfen, um eine Betrachtung aus ganzheitlicher Perspektive sicherzustellen.

DER »GIRA CODE OF
CONDUCT« BEHANDELT
FOLGENDE THEMEN:

 

Gesetze, Normen

Einhaltung von Gesetzen
und gesellschaftlichen
Normen



Mensch

Umgang mit Kunden /
Umgang mit Mitarbeitern /
Umgang mit Marktpartnern
und Lieferanten



Umwelt

Ressourcenverbrauch /
Emissionen /
Umgang mit Gefahrstoffen /
Abfallvermeidung,
Fähigkeit zum Recyceln /
Umweltbelastende
Rohstoffe



Wirtschaft

Produkte und Leistungen /
Korruption und Bestechung/Datenschutz und Datensicherheit

»Eine ernsthafte Nachhaltigkeitsorientierung erfordert den Blick auf die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette.«

Jan Böttcher, Verantwortlicher Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement

Unsere Anforderungen an Lieferanten Die Verantwortung von Gira soll nicht am eigenen Werkstor beginnen oder enden. Eine ernsthafte Nachhaltigkeitsorientierung erfordert vielmehr den Blick auf die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette. Dabei stehen insbesondere die Lieferanten und Zulieferer im Fokus. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben wir neben unserem eigenen einen speziellen Code of Conduct für Lieferanten formuliert, der nationale und internationale Regeln und Gesetze sowie Werte und gesellschaftliche Konventionen abbildet, deren Einhaltung Gira als grundlegend für eine verantwortungsorientierte Zusammenarbeit ansieht. Dabei geht es insbesondere um die Einhaltung der Kernarbeitsnorm der ILO [International Labour Organization] und um die Prinzipien des UN Global Compacts. Als Basis für eine langfristige und erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit Gira sollen sich unsere Lieferanten dieser dort formulierten Anforderungen annehmen und ihnen entsprechen. Zudem sollen sie ihre eigenen Lieferanten nach denselben Kriterien auswählen und überprüfen.

 

__________________________

Downloads:
Gira Code of Conduct
Gira Code of Conduct für Lieferanten

__________________________

Links:
International Labour Organization
Global Compact Netzwerk Deutschland

DER »GIRA CODE OF
CONDUCTFÜR
LIEFERANTEN«
BEHANDELT FOLGENDE
THEMEN:


Gesetze, Normen

Einhaltung von Gesetzen
und gesellschaftlichen
Normen



Mensch

Menschenrechte und
Arbeitsstandards /
Zwangs- und Kinderarbeit /
Menschenwürdige
Behandlung ohne
Diskriminierung /
Gesundheit und Sicherheit/
Löhne und Arbeitszeiten



Umwelt

Ressourcenverbrauch /
Emissionen /
Umgang mit Gefahrstoffen/
Abfallvermeidung,
Fähigkeit zum Recyceln /
Umweltbelastende
Rohstoffe



Wirtschaft

Korruption und Bestechung/
Geschenke und
Einladungen /
Leistungen und Produkte
Zusammenarbeit
Gemeinsames Handeln und
praktischer Umgang /
Meldung von Verstößen /
Mögliche Konsequenzen



Zusammenarbeit

Gemeinsames Handeln und
praktischer Umgang /
Meldung von Verstößen /
Mögliche Konsequenzen

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017