Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

In order to ensure that intelligent building technology from Gira always arrives safely, promptly, and on time to our customers, the right logistics partner is essential. When selecting these partners, Gira also places high importance on sustainability. To assist this procedure, the company has developed a comprehensive sheet of criteria that is used to evaluate and select partners. It is also used to carry out regular assessments of the collaboration.

The two key issues here are resource efficiency and climate protection. After all, the transport and logistics sector is responsible for around 23% of global CO₂ emissions. According to a study conducted by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPPC), 35% of this alone is caused by goods and freight transport, meaning that this sector has a special degree of responsibility in the fight against climate change.

As an environmentally responsible customer, Gira also wants to make a contribution. "Since 2009, we have only used suppliers who demonstrably practise Green Logistics. We request presentation of the relevant certificates every year," says Andreas Dürwald, Head of Manufacturing and Logistics. For sending letters, Gira therefore uses the GoGreen service offered by the Deutsche Post. To counteract the greenhouse gas emissions resulting from shipment, pro-rata investments are made in climate protection projects that aim to reduce the negative environmental impact. Nevertheless, as a manufacturing and exporting company, transport via heavy goods vehicles plays a considerably larger role for Gira. This area presents enormous challenges in the attempt to achieve mobility which is as low-emission and efficient as possible.

For this, a variety of key aspects must be considered and respected. This includes the use of vehicles with state-of-the-art technology and thus the procurement of low-emission lorries, in addition to IT-optimised route planning in order to avoid unnecessary distances. Another advantage is presented by the use of multi-compartment vehicles for the more variable and therefore considerably more efficient utilisation of the fleet. "In light of growing demand, all large logistics companies now have a Green Logistics certificate. At Gira, we also regularly request the appropriate documentation, which we closely inspect and compare. By selecting not just the cheapest, but also the most responsible partners, we believe we are making a decisive contribution to environmental and climate protection," states Dürwald.


THE GIRA SERVICES

Contract allocation to logistics partners with Green Logistics certificate


Regular inspection of existing partnerships


Letter dispatch with the Deutsche Post GoGreen programme

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Damit intelligente Gebäudetechnik von Gira immer sicher, schnell und pünktlich beim Kunden ankommt, sorgt der richtige Logistikpartner. Bei seiner Wahl spielt bei Gira auch Nachhaltigkeit eine entscheidende Rolle. Dafür hat das Unternehmen ein umfassendes Kriterienblatt erstellt, nach dem die Partner bewertet und ausgewählt werden. Auf seiner Basis wird zudem auch die Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen regelmäßig überprüft.

Dabei geht es vor allem um Ressourceneffizienz und Klimaschutz. Denn der Transport- und Logistiksektor ist für rund 23 Prozent der weltweiten CO₂-Emissionen verantwortlich. Laut einer Studie des Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPPC) werden allein 35 Prozent davon vom Waren- und Gütertransport verursacht, so dass dieser Branche eine besondere Verantwortung im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel zukommt.

Als umweltbewusster Auftraggeber will auch Gira seinen Beitrag dazu leisten. „Bereits seit 2009 setzen wir deshalb ausschließlich Dienstleister ein, die nachweislich Green Logistics praktizieren. Die entsprechenden Zertifikate lassen wir uns jedes Jahr vorlegen“, sagt Andreas Dürwald, Leiter Fertigung und Logistik. Für den Briefversand nutzt Gira daher das Angebot GoGreen der Deutschen Post. Für die entstehenden Treibhausgasemissionen der Versendungen werden anteilig Investitionen in Klimaschutzprojekte getätigt, welche die negativen Umweltauswirkungen reduzieren sollen. Als produzierendes und exportierendes Unternehmen spielt für Gira jedoch der Transport mit LKW eine wesentlich größere Rolle. Dieser Bereich bietet enorme Herausforderungen, wenn es darum geht, möglichst emissionsarme und effiziente Mobilität zu erreichen.

Hierfür muss eine Vielzahl zentraler Aspekte berücksichtigt und eingehalten werden. Dazu gehören der Einsatz von Fahrzeugen nach dem neuesten Stand der Technik und somit die Anschaffung emissionsarmer LKW, aber auch die IT-optimierte Tourenplanung, um unnötige Strecken zu vermeiden. Vorteilhaft ist zudem auch der Einsatz von Mehrkammer-Fahrzeugen für eine variablere und somit wesentlich effizientere Auslastung des Fuhrparks. „Aufgrund der steigenden Nachfrage können mittlerweile alle großen Logistikunternehmen ein Green Logistics Zertifikat vorweisen. Auch wir bei Gira fordern regelmäßig entsprechende Informationen an, die wir uns genau anschauen und vergleichen. Denn wir betrachten es als einen entscheidenden Beitrag zum Umwelt- und Klimaschutz an, nicht einfach nur die preisgünstigsten, sondern auch verantwortungsvolle Partner auswählen“, sagt Dürwald.


DIE GIRA LEISTUNGEN

Auftragsvergabe an Logistikpartner mit Green Logistics Zertifikat


Regelmäßige Überprüfung bestehender Partnerschaften


Briefversand mit GoGreen der Deutschen Post

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017