Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Paper Management Team Flyers, catalogues, brochures and stationery – in almost every company, a huge amount of paper is consumed. As a result, paper management is an indispensable component of any agenda for sustainable action. At Gira a special team concentrates on minimising paper consumption. They have their eye on all information material and other printed advertising material such as stationary and the many sheets of paper that printers, copiers and fax machines discharge every year. A total of 48.5 million sheets are used every year for Gira's various brochures and the catalogue. Annual internal consumption totals a staggering 6.4 million sheets of paper. It was therefore clear where Gira had to start: by switching catalogue and brochure production to paper made from renewable materials and heightening the awareness of all employees of how important it is for them to lower their own paper consumption, it was possible to lower the environmental impact considerably.

ENVIRONMENT


PEOPLE


BUSINESS

PROJECT COMPONENTS

Promotion of the Gira online catalogue and the PDF versions of brochures and the catalogue.

Boosting awareness of the topic of paper consumption/Promoting paper-saving projects

Optimisation of advertising material production:
Reduction of the catalogue circulation by 15,000/Use of environmentally friendly paper

Switching to recycled paper No sooner said than done – in the meantime Gira has already achieved a great deal in this respect. Instead of using different types of paper for printing the Gira brochures, the company now almost only uses environmentally-friendly paper. This affects around 6.5 million sheets of paper every year. To this purpose the Gira Paper Management Team joined forces with the design agency in charge of the brochures to actively search for alternatives. "Together with the designers, we looked at a range of environmentally friendly paper types. After all, in addition to ecological criteria, we had to make sure that the desired quality and printing results were maintained," explains Julia Jäger, Member of the Marketing Department. After the initial selection and selective printing tests in small print runs, the choice fell to a specific paper. "There are very high-quality types of recycled paper available today. Differences to conventional paper are no longer noticeable," states Julia Jäger with satisfaction. Recycled paper has already been found for the Gira catalogue that is FSC / PEFC certified and that is made of 100 percent recycled paper.

PROJECT TEAM


Julia Jäger
[Advertising Project Manager]



Julian Bruns [Member of the
the Sales Marketing Team]

Fig. left: Julia Jäger has been working as Advertising Project Manager since 2010. Julian Bruns has been working in Sales Marketing since 2010 and is also responsible for sending mailings to customers.

Lowering paper consumption At the same time, Gira is also looking at lowering paper consumption. "The current ordering behaviour of specific customer groups shows that paper advertising materials are no longer absolutely necessary. Digital alternatives are also widely used," states Julian Bruns, Member of the Sales Marketing Team and also in charge of sending mailings to customers. "We are also following various optimisation approaches in this respect." One good example is the Gira catalogue. It was possible to considerably lower the number of printed items in favour of the Gira online catalogue and the PDF version. An increasing number of customers, especially architects and wholesalers, now prefer to use the online catalogue or the PDF version. For this reason Gira has created the option for customers to inform us before the catalogue is shipped whether they would like to continue receiving the printed version. It will therefore only be sent if it is actually required. Responses from customers also help keep our address database up to date. The number of
catalogues that are sent back can then be lowered considerably. The success of optimisation has been tremendous: The print run of the catalogue dropped by 15,000 from 2013 to 2015. In this way alone, Gira managed to lower its paper consumption by more than six million sheets. It was also possible to offset the CO₂ emissions of catalogue production in 2015 by supporting a climate protection project in the region [Bergwald Project Werdohl, combined climate protection certificate with gold standard].

"The ordering behaviour of specific customer groups shows that paper advertising materials are no longer absolutely necessary."

Julian Bruns,
[Member of Sales Marketing]

Replacing and saving internal paper The paper that is used during normal business is also a significant item which can be saved and optimised by using ecologically sound alternatives to improve Gira's environmental impact. At the beginning, the company took a look at the status quo. This revealed that Gira already used paper that has two important environmental certificates. "We want to achieve a higher level of recycling and are therefore looking at alternatives," explains Julian Bruns. "We are also looking at other items such as business cards, envelopes and labels and have been looking for suitable new paper types," he adds. An essential element of sustainability is considering our own paper consumption and reducing it as far as possible. To heighten the awareness of employees of the necessity to lower their own paper consumption, in November 2013 the first "Save Paper" campaign month was organised in the form of a competition between the departments – with several very positive results. Additional selected projects focusing on saving paper are to follow to ensure that employees remain conscious of responsible use of paper in the long term.

PROJECT PLAN

Follow

DE EN

Gira and sustainability
Report 2017

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017

Team für das Papiermanagement Flyer, Kataloge, Broschüren und Briefpapier – in fast jedem Unternehmen wird eine große Menge an Papier verbraucht. Zu einer Agenda für nachhaltiges Handeln gehört das Thema Papiermanagement daher unbedingt dazu. Bei Gira kümmert sich ein eigenes Team darum, den Papierverbrauch zu minimieren. Im Blick haben sie dabei sowohl sämtliches Informationsmaterial und sonstige gedruckte Werbemittel wie auch Briefpapier und die vielen Blatt Papier, die die Drucker, Kopierer und Faxgeräte in den Gira Büros im Jahr ausspucken. 48,5 Millionen Blätter sind es jährlich, die für die verschiedenen Gira Broschüren und den Gira Katalog zusammenkommen. 6,4 Millionen Blatt Papier fallen jährlich beim internen Verbrauch an. Damit lag auf der Hand, wo Gira anzusetzen hatte: Durch Umstellung der Katalog- und Broschürenproduktion auf nachhaltig hergestelltes Papier und durch Schaffung eines Bewusstseins für die Notwendigkeit, den eigenen Papierverbrauch zu reduzieren, ließ sich die Umwelt erheblich entlasten.

UMWELT


MENSCH


WIRTSCHAFT

PROJEKTBAUSTEINE

Förderung des Gira Online
Katalogs und der PDF-Versionen
von Broschüren
und des Katalogs

Thema Papierverbrauch
bewusster machen /
Projekte zum Papiersparen
fördern

Optimierung in der Werbemittelproduktion:
Reduzierung der Katalogauflage
um 15.000 Exemplare / Verwendung
umweltfreundlicher Papiere

Umstellung auf Recycling-Papier Gesagt, getan – inzwischen hat Gira hier bereits einiges erreicht. Anstatt wie bislang für den Druck von Gira Broschüren verschiedene Papiersorten zu verwenden, verwendet das Unternehmen jetzt nahezu ausschließlich umweltfreundlich hergestelltes. Dies betrifft rund 6,5 Millionen Blatt Papier. Dazu hat das Gira Papiermanagement Team zunächst gemeinsam mit der für die Broschüren zuständigen Designagentur nach Alternativen gesucht. »In Zusammenarbeit mit den Designern haben wir uns verschiedene umweltfreundliche Papiere angeschaut. Denn nicht nur die ökologischen Kriterien, sondern auch die Qualität und das Druckbild sollen weiterhin stimmen«, erklärt Julia Jäger, zuständige Mitarbeiterin der Marketing-Abteilung. Nach einer ersten Vorauswahl und gezielten Probedrucken in kleinen Auflagen ist die Entscheidung für ein bestimmtes Papier gefallen. »Es gibt mittlerweile sehr hochwertige Recycling-Papiere. Da bemerkt man keinen Unterschied mehr zu den herkömmlichen Papieren«, sagt Julia Jäger zufrieden. Für den Gira Katalog ist auch bereits ein Recyclingpapier gefunden, das FSC / PEFC zertifiziert ist und aus 100 Prozent Altpapier besteht.

PROJEKTTEAM


Julia Jäger
[Projektleitung Werbung]



Julian Bruns [Mitarbeiter
im Vertriebsmarketing]

Abb. links: Julia Jäger arbeitet seit 2010 bei Gira in der Projektleitung Werbung. Julian Bruns ist seit 2010 Mitarbeiter im Vertriebsmarketing und u. a. zuständig für Mailings an Kunden.

Papierverbrauch reduzieren Begleitend dazu hat Gira auch die Senkung des Papierverbrauchs im Blick. »Das aktuelle Bestellverhalten einzelner Kundengruppen zeigt, dass Werbemittel in Papierform nicht mehr zwingend nötig sind. Denn auch digitale Alternativen werden sehr gut genutzt«, sagt Julian Bruns, Mitarbeiter im Vertriebsmarketing und u. a. zuständig für Mailings an Kunden. »Auch in dieser Hinsicht verfolgen wir verschiedene Optimierungsansätze.« Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist der Gira Katalog. Die Stückzahl der gedruckten Exemplare konnte zugunsten des Gira Online Katalog und der PDF-Version deutlich reduziert werden. Denn immer mehr Kunden, vor allem Architekten und Großhändler, bevorzugen mittlerweile den Online Katalog oder die PDF-Version. Daher hat Gira die Möglichkeit geschaffen, dass Kunden vor dem Versand mitteilen können, ob sie weiterhin das Printmedium erhalten möchten. Die Zustellung erfolgt nur, wenn die Print-Version auch wirklich gewünscht ist. Die Rückmeldungen der Kunden helfen zudem dabei, die Adressdatei aktuell zu halten. Die Zahl der
Rückläufe kann dadurch deutlich verringert werden. Der Erfolg der Optimierungen ist enorm: Die gedruckte Auflage des Katalogs sank von 2013 bis 2015 um 15.000 Exemplare. Allein dadurch hat Gira den Papierverbrauch um gut sechs Millionen Blatt verringert. Zudem wurde den in der Katalogproduktion 2015 entstehenden CO²-Emissionen durch die Unterstützung eines Klimaschutzprojektes in der Region [Bergwaldprojekt Werdohl, Klimaschutz-Kombizertifikat mit Gold Standard] entgegengewirkt.

»Das Bestellverhalten einzelner Kundengruppen zeigt, dass Werbemittel in Papierform nicht mehr zwingend nötig sind.«

Julian Bruns,
Mitarbeiter im Vertriebsmarketing

Interne Papiere austauschen und einsparen Auch das Papier, das im Geschäftsbetrieb verbraucht wird, bildete einen bedeutenden Posten, um durch Einsparung und Umstellung auf ökologisch unbedenkliche Papiersorten die Umweltleistung von Gira zu verbessern. Am Anfang stand eine interne Bestandsaufnahme. Diese zeigte, dass Gira bereits Papier verwendete, das zwei wichtige Umweltzertifikate besitzt »Wir wollen einen noch höheren Recycling-Anteil erreichen und prüfen daher Alternativen«, erklärt Julian Bruns. »Zudem setzen wir uns mit dem Umfeld wie Visitenkarten, Umschläge und Etiketten auseinander und haben dabei erfolgreich nach passenden neuen Papiersorten gesucht«, ergänzt er. Zur Nachhaltigkeit gehört auch ganz wesentlich, den Papierverbrauch selbst in den Blick nehmen und so weit wie möglich zu reduzieren. Um bei den Mitarbeitern das Bewusstsein für die Notwendigkeit zu schärfen, den eigenen Papierverbrauch zu optimieren, gab es im November 2013 in Form eines Wettbewerbs zwischen den Abteilungen den ersten Aktionsmonat »Papiersparen« – mit einigen tollen Einspar-Erfolgen Weitere gezielte Projekte zum Papiersparen sollen folgen, um dauerhaft ein Bewusstsein der Mitarbeiter für den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Papier zu schaffen.

PROJEKTVERLAUF

Follow

DE EN

Gira und Nachhaltigkeit
Report 2017